Shrimp tank options

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gk2v

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm going to be setting up some shrimp specific tanks in the next month and I'm new to shrimp so need some advice.

Ill be keeping only cherry shrimp but a variety of colours so the set up needs to be for a very small breeding colony.

My questions are-
How small is too small as far as tank size?

Should I buy 1 large divided tank or several small ones?

I want to run a sponge filter in each section separately but off one air pump- is this possible?

What's the best way to heat multiple small tanks?

If i do go for a large divided tank, is glass dividers best or should I go for mesh etc for better cobtrol of heating and filtration?

Do I need shrimp specific substrate if I'm only keeping cherry shrimp? My tap PH is 7.8 and current community tank does well with it

Sorry if these questions seem stupid- I just want to get it right the first time!

It'd be more economical to divide one long tank. Using mesh will allow everything to flow better. My current project includes a foam filter that is more popular in Europe than here that I can see working well for you. http://www.swisstropicals.com/filtration-shop/mattenfilter-shop/ gives you premade options, just add air pump. http://youtu.be/s_1cSR3mbM4 shows you the DIY version. For breeding shrimp, the 45ppi will prevent fry from being stuck to the foam. You can put your heater behind the foam and it'll return warm water to the tank. It's pretty easy to cycle, put the starter media in the back where the water is drawn in. https://youtu.be/mZwMisotiQs shows you a more expensive but awesome setup.

If you prefer to do a rack, I've never considered it. This guy can show you all the things. http://youtu.be/CUFoVP59LmE As he says in the intro, he has other vids showing you how to make the components.