Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-12-2018, 11:10 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
parsons483's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 128
Caribsea eco complete cichlid substrate

I turned on my filter the same day I set up the tank. Is it possible I turned the filter on to early? Just out of curiosity.
__________________

__________________
parsons483 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2018, 11:15 AM   #2
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by parsons483 View Post
I turned on my filter the same day I set up the tank. Is it possible I turned the filter on to early? Just out of curiosity.
The best way to start a new tank is to have the filter running before the tank is set up.

Why are you worried about turning the filter on?
__________________

__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2018, 11:27 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
parsons483's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZxC View Post
The best way to start a new tank is to have the filter running before the tank is set up.



Why are you worried about turning the filter on?


Someone told me that for that eco complete cichlid substrate that they saw a video saying that they didnít turn the filter on until the next day. So it made me a bit afraid that I filtered out the beneficial bacteria that is already in it? From what I was reading online this substrate do not need to be cycled because the bacteria is already in it
__________________
parsons483 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2018, 11:28 AM   #4
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by parsons483 View Post
Someone told me that for that eco complete cichlid substrate that they saw a video saying that they didnít turn the filter on until the next day. So it made me a bit afraid that I filtered out the beneficial bacteria that is already in it? From what I was reading online this substrate do not need to be cycled because the bacteria is already in it
You want maximum amounts of bacteria in the substrate AND the filter. No harm done starting the filter.
__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2018, 11:53 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
parsons483's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZxC View Post
You want maximum amounts of bacteria in the substrate AND the filter. No harm done starting the filter.


Ok thank you so much lol
__________________
parsons483 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, cichlid, eco complete, ich, sea, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CaribSea Flora Max vs. Eco-Complete bradleyheathhays Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 05-29-2014 06:31 PM
For Sale: Caribsea eco complete cichlid sand Dchi225 Archive 0 04-02-2013 06:53 PM
Caribsea Eco Complete Substrate F4A Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 15 04-13-2011 04:42 PM
Planted ECO-Complete as substrate in Cichlid tank omegasupreme Cichlid Discussion 1 09-29-2007 03:22 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.