Goldfish HELP...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cota1

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,

I am not a newbie and I have a lot of aquarium experience from freshwater to saltwater...I also breed and raise seahorses. I am having a boat load of trouble with, of all things, one of my goldfish. She is a 3-4 year old lionhead and has always been very healthy and active. She has spawned many times and I have raise many of her offspring. I finally took away the males last year so I wasn't making myself crazy by trying to raise every single baby goldfish. Anyway, she has become listless and has been lying at the bottom of the aquarium for weeks....probably close to two months now. I have researched and tried every method I have found. I have used generalized medications for internal and external ailments with no success. It is hard to tell if she is actually bloated more than her normal body shape..so Im assuming she isn't bloated badly. She aggressively eats anything I can get near her....I have been feeding her nothing but shelled frozen peas and she loves them....but there has not been any sign of her getting better. I am to the point that if I cant find something to help her, I feel like I should put her to rest....which I haven't looked up humane ways to euthanize a goldfish....but I would prefer to just get her better...but it has been so long that I do not know what to do. if ANYONE has any ideas or recommendations for healing..please let me know asap...I feel like she is suffering thought there is no signs of it other than he lying at the bottom of the tank. I should mention that the other 3 goldfish that share her tank have no signs or symptoms. Please help! Thanks, Michael

Last edited by a moderator: