Help for a total newbie to ponds

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TenaciousTriggerFish

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Ust bought a 700 gallon koolitron pond kit want some Goldie's but my question is what else?? I though about 3 maybe even 4 plecos and possible a koi *fingers crossed* but I don't just want Goldie's plecos etc what else can I put in it?

TenaciousTriggerFish said:
Ust bought a 700 gallon koolitron pond kit want some Goldie's but my question is what else?? I though about 3 maybe even 4 plecos and possible a koi *fingers crossed* but I don't just want Goldie's plecos etc what else can I put in it?

And I'm truly new to this

A single pleco might work. You can't keep koi but maybe some shubinkin goldfish that look like koi.

Dear TenaciousTriggerFish,

Actually I would not put a pleco in with goldfish. Plecos have been known to go for the goldies' slime coat and some plecos think goldies are food. Shubukins are hearty like goldfish (they're in the same class as goldies) and come in a variety of butterfly, etc varieties. Think about some of them.
Chris

revchristinejday said:
Dear TenaciousTriggerFish,

Actually I would not put a pleco in with goldfish. Plecos have been known to go for the goldies' slime coat and some plecos think goldies are food. Shubukins are hearty like goldfish (they're in the same class as goldies) and come in a variety of butterfly, etc varieties. Think about some of them.
Chris

Well I have a 12" pleco in a fifty gallon that I don't have the heart to get rid of don't you think if well fed he will leave them alone?

Tenacious, what state are you in? The climate determines what species you can reasonably keep.
How deep is the pond?