Safety for my pond

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tiffi

Aquarium Advice Addict
I live in Tennessee, want to set up a pond this spring, and was wondering about two things:

1) Is a water depth of 24" enough for my fishes to survive in the winter?

2) Do I need a fence around the pond. I'm just so scared some stupid kid might fall into the pond, drown and its parents will sue me big time.

Thanks for the answers.

i think its 3 feet to be able to leave the fish in. im not that sure that a kid would fall in. i have no personal experience with this, but for the kid to be able to drown i think it would either have to be like a baby, or.. doesnt know how to stand in water? also if the kids small enough to be able to drown in a 3 ft pond, shouldnt it be the parent's responsibility to watch the kid? but then again this is just speculation (not even sure if thats the right word, but we dont have that many little kids around here anymore)

id be more worried about animals getting into your pond and eating your fish. i dont know about the wildlife in TN, but here neighbor's cats raccoons and dogs could probably catch fish.

I though about the cats etc too, but we have a very nice lab mix, that keep all cats etc away.

I've just heard about this many times, that if kids drown in your pond or pool it's your fault because you might not have had a fence or so to surround it. I've also heard that up to a specific depth you don't need a fence. Everybody just sues everybody here in the US, even if the kids would have been old enough to know better or the parents were supposed to watch them.