saltwater pond ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wally8252

Aquarium Advice Newbie
alright maybe I will get laughed out of here , but has anyone tried it?, I have been doing saltwater reef tanks for 10 years now, and have a pond in the backyard that I thought I might turn into saltwater. Being in california, southern half the weathers good enough that if I went with fish local to the area they should survive ? I thought maybe a shark some starfish and a few fish, try and keep the load down to a minimum. whats everyones opinion? do able? crazy? also the water quality in southern cali beachs is down right bad , so I thought maybe it's possible to do this?

ok commence with the laughter

also I have a friend who dives who will get me what I want to stock it with so I know that what ever I put in has not been trashed on , or caught in a tramatic way

i dont think its a dumb idea... but its probably going to be more money and effort than you are looking for.... Its hard enough to keep a fresh water pond clean, clear, and fish being healty.... let alone salt... But ill let everyone else add their ideas... this is just my opinion....

If the pond is indoors, then sure, it is just a big aquarium.

Outdoors can be a problem. In the summer heat a lot of water can evaporate, and raise your salinity. A good rain and you would have the opposite effect.

A third factor is viewing the fish. Common pond fish are goldfish and other brightly colored surface feeders. With a pond, it might be very hard to see the inverts and anything else that likes to sit on the bottom.

Lasly if you do it, make sure you get a pump rated for SW.

yeah, thats something i never even thought of... and what about the protein skimmer?! it would be the size of a garage..... :LOL:

SKimmer would probaly be one of those large 6' varietys.