Adf care

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

flame_fish

Aquarium Advice Activist
I've read research, watched videos & even gotten advice but I just wanna know a little more about adf.

okay so my top questions are...

are ADF hardy?
are they compatible with baby turtles?
are they aggressive to some fish?
what do they like in their tanks?
what are the signs of sickness?
what temperature do they need?
& last but not least what do they enjoy to eat?

thank you guys :) now hurry up & help me haha jk :lol:

Hi,

I'm no expert but I do keep adf's. I find mine love bloodworms and brine shrimp (I use frozen). They are hand fed so they don't really nip at their tank mates but it has been known. If you have very small fish the adf,s can eat them or anynother adf's smaller than them.
They are generally skittish by nature and pretty nervous. They shouldn't ever be kept with turtles as they will get eaten.
They like the tank to have plenty of hiding places and natural colours that they use to camouflage. They are nocturnal and they sleep for about 12 hrs everyday. Usually when the tank lights are on. Plants are best to be natural as the rough edges of plastic plants cut their webbed feet and damage their limbs. There should not be lots of pebbles etc as these can easily crush the adf. I find moss balls are good as they burrow under them without getting hurt. ( daytime I can always spot them by the mysterious moss ball on legs).
It's advised that you have a tank lid as these guys can get out and unfortunately although they can leave the water, they dry out and die very quickly if they don't get back in. I find they like to balance on one leg off the back of heaters/filters/suckers...anything really and they also like to just be lazy and float on the surface to save them going up for air.

Hope some of this is useful to you :)