Baby Map Turtle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Stellah

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello!

Yesterday I "adopted" a baby map turtle. I have done some research on my own, but anything anyone could tell me about what to expect would be great. So far, (I've only had him one day) he doesn't have a UVB light, but just a basking light, and a wet/dry mini heater under some rocks.. The water is about about an inch and a half deep, and he can get out, and stick his head up.

I think he slept in the water last night/ is that normal? What is normal map turtle behavior? Haha I'm new to the whole turtle thing...

Any advice at all would be great, thanks in advance!

Attachments

• image-640985772.jpg
    image-640985772.jpg
    131.4 KB · Views: 116
  • image-2964206727.jpg
    image-2964206727.jpg
    134.8 KB · Views: 122
  • image-2050584665.jpg
    image-2050584665.jpg
    137.3 KB · Views: 121
  • image-3694158602.jpg
    image-3694158602.jpg
    139.3 KB · Views: 128
He well need a UVB and they do sleep under water ^.^ I had a map turtle gave him to my aunt she loves him there really good pets

Congrats, theyre so cute. I have one that was given to us few years ago. hes come a long way. Hes quirky, sometimes will stay in the water for days never coming out, to basking days where he`ll sit under the uvb for 6 or 7 hours, then back in the water where he sleeps. Clean water is important, foul water will cause all sorts of health issues. A uvb is also important.