Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-12-2010, 02:27 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thominil's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In the middle of the corn....
Posts: 2,773
It doesn't matter if you slow the cycle, if you cycle with fish and you have readable signs of ammonia or nitrite, you change water. Not doing so poses health risks to the fish, and we don't want that.
__________________

__________________
~Thom
Any questions? Feel free to PM me.
Hitchhikers on live rock? http://www.xtalworld.com/Aquarium/hitchfaq.htm
Like someone's post? Show some appreciation with the reputation button!
thominil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 09:32 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i didn't read to the end to see that there were fish in the tank. i'd remove all livestock until the cycle is over.
what kind of starfish are these?
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 12:13 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak


 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Worton on the Eastern Shore of Maryland
Posts: 341
Dear cmor1701d:
Here are my readings for the last three days. Ammonia 0, Nitrite 0, Nitrate 10 and PH 8.4. I'm now getting excited and want to add a couple fishes. My husband wants to get 4 blue/green cromis. If they're not available at my lfs, where we have a lot of confidence, we'll probably go for a Clown, perhaps an Assesser and a blenny. Don't want to overwhelm the system. What do you think?
__________________
mellowyellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 12:43 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
OK, that seems like the tank has cycled. Now you need to do a 30% water change, wait a week, and test again.
You already have a Foxface in there, correct?
What other livestock?
How much LR if any?
What is your substrate and how deep is it?

I reccomemnd adding no more than 1 or 2 fish per month (30 days apart) to allow the biological filter time to accomodate the higher load.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 12:59 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nxb161's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 737
Also beware the number of fish you put in the 30G. SW tanks are not as forgiving as FW w/ over crowding. I have a chromis in my 29G and really like it, but would not want it to be an all chromis tank. I have a chromis, a percula clown, royal gramma, and sixline wrasse. I'd like more fish, but realize I'd be risking the whole tank by adding more. (that is why I started my 38G) :p
__________________
~Nick
nxb161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 10:48 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak


 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Worton on the Eastern Shore of Maryland
Posts: 341
Dear Mr. X all my numbers are now excellant. Everything has jived four days now. A new testing API kit did the trick. I'll looking to add fish tomorrow. Only a couple. Thanks for your reply to my previous thread.
__________________

__________________
mellowyellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much Ammonia is too much? HooKooDooKu Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 12-08-2008 03:07 AM
How fast to safely change SG from 1.019 to 1.025 Brenden Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 11-02-2005 01:41 PM
Where can you get ammonia? manooosie Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 08-26-2005 11:16 AM
Found Ammonia for you fishless ammonia cyclers at Ace TomK2 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 03-22-2005 05:06 PM
35ppm or 1.025? KLN Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-07-2004 01:55 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.