Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-19-2012, 06:45 PM   #61
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank
Sounds like overkill. It has to be either lighting or water quality isnt good enough. Id still put my money on lighting if i remember this thread correctly.
It isn't costing me anything. And my lights are 3w bridgelux leds.. My tank is only 27" radius 1/4 cylinder. With 16 blues and 20 whites.. Thats 108 watts. 2watts per gallon.. And its bleaching so I think my lights are fine.

You maybe right about water quality. But my nitrates have never been too high and is less than 5ppm a couple days ago. Test again today..

Never have had photphates, that I know of.. Cheap api test kit.. And never had algae, either... Hmm. Well diatoms if you count that... Coraline seems to be growing tho..?
__________________

__________________
CaliO is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 06:59 PM   #62
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
I just can't believe that the tank has never had algae...that is almost like a sure thing to atleast do minor battle once. I had mine in my sand bed shortly after cycling. I still have some cyano in the sandbed up against the glass. Atm, I have yet to be successful keeping sps. I just got a green slimer that I hope does well. Only time will tell on that one after my elephant ear dies and clouds up my tank.

Now that I think of it, can you post a FTS with full bioload of your tank? Maybe that will get my brain turning some.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 07:06 PM   #63
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 106
FTS?
Full Tank Stock? Or just fish and in verts? Post one! But i'll update when I get to a keyboard...
__________________
CaliO is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 07:08 PM   #64
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
Yes, full tank shot. Then list all the critters and corals.
Sniperhank is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 07:14 PM   #65
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 106
Livestock =
[2] Ocellaris Clownfish
[2] Fire fish/ Dart fish
[1] Steinitz Goby
[1] Snapping Shrimp "DEAD" Edited*
[1] Emerald Crab "MIA month+"
[1] Powder Blue Tang
[1] Cleaner Shrimp
[1] Sand Shifting Starfish "mia weeks"
[8] Narcissus Snails

Green Zoa Colony [20-25polyps]
Blue Zoa Colony [30-40 polyps]
Bam Bam Zoa [3 polyps]
Mystery Zoa [5 polyps]
Montipora Digitata
Green Birdsnest Acropora
Green Trumpet


And i'll a youtube video when get home. To better see the set up ect.
__________________
CaliO is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 07:19 PM   #66
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
You may want to double check your nitrates. Usually when inverts start disappearing nitrates are a possible culprit. High nitrates would also affect corals. I'm not saying you are testing wrong- but perhaps you have a bad test? Try having someone else use their test kit to test
__________________
Jlsardina is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 07:31 PM   #67
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlsardina
You may want to double check your nitrates. Usually when inverts start disappearing nitrates are a possible culprit. High nitrates would also affect corals. I'm not saying you are testing wrong- but perhaps you have a bad test? Try having someone else use their test kit to test
Yes nitrates were 20+ when the emarld went mia...Kit has been compared with lfs's it is good. The emarld is Most likely dead. But the snapping shrimp is probly alive I see his work all the time but him and the goby hit it off right away and dont like showing themselves.
__________________
CaliO is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 11:07 PM   #68
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 106
Sorry no video, was in the middle of making a walk through of my system when my phone died.... But I did test everything I could and am seeing a potential problem....

77* degrees / 35ppt = 1.0268 salinity
Ammonia = <0.25ppm / Nitrites = 0ppm / Nitrates = <5ppm / Phosphates = 0<.25ppm
Calcium = 400ppm / Alk = 8dKH / Magnesium = 1680ppm

I have been using reef crystals for 4months now and been testing Magnesium for over a month. This is a list of magnesium and water changes only... I was doing WC's to get nitrates down.. And bring calcium up..

3/3/12 - Mag = 1160
3/20/12 - 3g WC
3/22/12 - 5g WC
3/24/12 - Mag = 1360
3/24/12 - 3g WC
3/28/12 - Mag = 1560
3/28/12 - 5g WC
3/30/12 - 15g WC
4/3/12 - Mag 1600
4/8/12 - 10g WC
4/13/12 - 8g WC
4/16/12 - 5g WC
4/19/12 - Mag = 1680


Funny cause these parameters are from 2 different buckets of reef crystals.. Bought at different times too,,,,

But could the reef crystals be adding too much mag. to my system and causeing problems with coral? And if so what uses up mag and way is mine so high?? Is it something I'm feeding?
__________________
CaliO is offline  
Old 04-20-2012, 05:18 AM   #69
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
I think your mag test is way wrong. The only way the mag levels can rise is by dosing it. For the levels to rise from 1160 to 1680 in a 50 gallon system, it would take aprox 48 oz of Kent Tech-M mag supplement or 43 oz of SeaChem Reef Advantage Magnesium supplement or 88 oz of ESV B-Ionic Magnesium. As you can see it takes a huge dose to raise mag that high.
Reef Crystals typically mixes to aprox 1440 mag.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline  
Old 04-20-2012, 12:32 PM   #70
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 106
Is it possible to be coming from my well and making it through my RO/DI system...? Will have LFS check as well. But I don't think the kit is inaccurate. It's ReaSea and brand new...
__________________

__________________
CaliO is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
missing, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did something crazy today! RaygunK Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 168 07-09-2012 01:17 AM
New Tank Setup - New to Saltwater Wilkes Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 29 05-21-2012 12:18 PM
Rate my tank Only200 Cichlid Discussion 23 04-19-2012 05:10 AM
more advice needed-need to move tank out some, how much water can I take out safely? heathers_hounds Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 04-04-2012 01:30 AM
My 55g cichlid tank markiezzi Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 15 04-03-2012 08:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.