10 gal sump or refug

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

daney90

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi, I'm new to this hobby and I've been reading articles for quite a while now. (I love reading!! LOL) I have a 55 gal tank as my soon to be reef tank. Right now there is nothing in the tank because I'm still cycling my 80lbs base rock in the rubbermaid bin that I have.

I'm having a dilemma here because I know most aquarist would say that a bigger sump is really important. However, the stand I have doesn't allow me to have a sump bigger than a 10gal. 10gal sump/refug is too tiny as what I have read. So, I'm thinking of two options here: to use that 10gal tank as a sump with just a skimmer no refug or get a HOB skimmer and use that 10 gal tank as a refug.

-daney

You should think about just a scrubber like sniperhank suggested if you only have room for a 10 gallon.

I'm just getting into the hobby and I'm really familiar how to an algae scrubber. Anyone tried doing it on a 10 gal?

It can be done on a 10g. It's just harder.

With a 10g sump have you thought about just 1 compartment with live rock rubble and a HOB skimmer to use on the sump? That way all your equipment would fit inside it. If you can fit an in-sump skimmer in the 10g with your heater and return pump, so much the better....but if space is tight, a HOB on the sump might be a good idea.

AquaRick said:
It can be done on a 10g. It's just harder.

With a 10g sump have you thought about just 1 compartment with live rock rubble and a HOB skimmer to use on the sump? That way all your equipment would fit inside it. If you can fit an in-sump skimmer in the 10g with your heater and return pump, so much the better....but if space is tight, a HOB on the sump might be a good idea.