Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-09-2013, 09:08 PM   #71
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kwandrsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nunnelly Tennessee
Posts: 2,072
Ok thanks and do I leave the first chamber empty or do I put some sort of filter media in it. And then later on when I buy my protein skimmer where do I put it or do I even need one.
__________________

__________________
kwandrsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 09:59 PM   #72
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CorallineAlgae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 3,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwandrsn
Ok thanks and do I leave the first chamber empty or do I put some sort of filter media in it. And then later on when I buy my protein skimmer where do I put it or do I even need one.
You can either put a filter sock under the drain line or run it without one. The drain side is also where you place a skimmer. Even a simple air driven skimmer like a Berlin Air Lift would work fine for that size tank. I kept a 30 gallon reef with one of those skimmers in the sump for well over 10 years without any issues. A pump driven skimmer is always great also. You don't need to have a skimmer but they really are nice and help maintain the water quality.
__________________

__________________
CorallineAlgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:42 PM   #73
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kwandrsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nunnelly Tennessee
Posts: 2,072
thank you. Like I said this will be my first salt water tank. I was going to use a hob filter and a power head but I was going to have a extra tank laying around so I figured I may as well use it. It will keep my display the same level and add extra water volume

As for the water. I don't have access to ro water. Is there any other options I have?

I am planning on using the shrimp in the panty hose method to get the ammonia in the tank
__________________
kwandrsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 03:26 PM   #74
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CorallineAlgae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 3,115
You can get some water jugs at a sporting goods store like Academy and just fill them with RO water from a fish shop, grocery store or a water mill on the side of the road if you have one around where you live. Tap water is never a good option for any saltwater tank. I can't stress this enough.. use RO. Tap water can turn your tank into an algae farm just like overfeeding.
__________________
CorallineAlgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 04:54 PM   #75
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kwandrsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nunnelly Tennessee
Posts: 2,072
So the 5 gallon water things at Walmart where you fill the jugs up for like drinking fountains will work?
__________________
kwandrsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:26 PM   #76
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CorallineAlgae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 3,115
They sure will. It may not be quite as good as a home RO filter but they do dispense RO water. A lot of people use them. I used them for a couple of years before getting my own filter. Remember to keep a jug just for top off.
__________________
CorallineAlgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:33 PM   #77
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kwandrsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nunnelly Tennessee
Posts: 2,072
ok cool I didn't know that that was ro water. yeah I will definitely keep one or two here. I'm planning on doing a 20 gallon display with a 20 as a sump. How much water do you think I should keep in the sump. I was going to put about 5 or 10 lbs of live sand in the center. And as for my return pump should I just run it up the back and have a hook type end on the hose and run it into the top of the display tank and I'm going to put the overflow hole as close to the top as I can. I would like to not be able to see the water line.
__________________
kwandrsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 07:05 PM   #78
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kwandrsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nunnelly Tennessee
Posts: 2,072
Well the 20 gallon setup fell thru. :-(
I guess I'm back to the 10 gallon display and a 10 gallon sump
__________________
kwandrsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 07:22 PM   #79
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,534
you never show a landlord a tank with a sump
__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 07:27 PM   #80
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kwandrsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nunnelly Tennessee
Posts: 2,072
No the person I was buying the 20s from backed out. Yeah I'm hiding the sump

I had the chance to buy 2 complete freshwater setups ona metal stand for 40$

I may buy a 20 and a 10 from petco while they have the 1$ sale. And build a simple stand. I just Dobby know if a 20 or a 20 long would be better
__________________

__________________
kwandrsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
10 gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.