Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-12-2017, 07:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

10 gallon saltwater: set-up cost estimate

Toying with the idea of going saltwater with my empty 10 gallon.

I've never done saltwater before, so trying to get an estimate of how much this would cost.

Aside from heater and powerhead, I have no other saltwater equipment. I know cost will vary widely depending on what sorts of liverock/coral I choose - but I'm just looking to get a range.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Old 07-12-2017, 07:54 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Skimmer reef octopus ns 80
54$
Sand (rough guess) $15
Light (to support corals, rough guess) $65-$100
Dry live rock $20
Salt for 10 gallons-$10 instant ocean or $15 reef crystals

Before any corals or fish I'll say $150 to $200 in setup cost, completely rough guess, depending on things you do or don't have it will be more or less. The desire for corals drives the build price up, without need of them you could do it for 80 or 90 bucks.

That said a 10 Gallon sw isn't easy to maintain. The startup cost you would save by using a 10 vs a 20-29 gallon will disappear in the first year. My first sw tank was a 20 high, a 20 long would afford a nice buffer against swings compared to a 10.

Old 07-12-2017, 08:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

SW 20gal min. and I think that's to small.
Old 07-12-2017, 09:02 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by idol1 View Post
SW 20gal min. and I think that's to small.
It can be done in much smaller tanks, look at Pico reefs, that said I agree with you, bigger tanks are better.
Old 07-12-2017, 10:18 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak

Fair enough, thanks for your help, everyone.

I'll probably leave my first foray into saltwater to a bigger tank.