Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-09-2014, 03:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
sweetcarolinex3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 160
10 gallon start up

I wanna start a 10 gallon with live rock and a clownfish and eventually upgrade to a bigger tank. Does anyone have any good substrate, filter, or any other suggestions? Thanks!
__________________

__________________
sweetcarolinex3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 03:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
treemanone2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bridgeport, Ct.
Posts: 2,168
Personally I wouldn't do a clown in a ten as most call for at least a 20g if not a 30g. As far a "substrate", you'll need live sand. Basic rule of thumb is 1lb/gal. LR and LS will reduce the amount of water space you have to work with also.
__________________

__________________
treemanone2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 05:21 PM   #3
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,529
you can use play sand but you need to find one that has no silicates in it
I would say do a 20 long better swimming are for a clown , try to get a Ocellaris Clownfish
as they stay a lot smaller than the others since you plan on a small tank
as for rock just get base rock 1# to 1 1/2# per gal
__________________
Save
54seaweed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 06:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
sweetcarolinex3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by treemanone2003 View Post
Personally I wouldn't do a clown in a ten as most call for at least a 20g if not a 30g. As far a "substrate", you'll need live sand. Basic rule of thumb is 1lb/gal. LR and LS will reduce the amount of water space you have to work with also.

I just want to start it in the 10gal and then move to 30gal.
__________________
sweetcarolinex3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 06:31 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
sweetcarolinex3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by 54seaweed View Post
you can use play sand but you need to find one that has no silicates in it
I would say do a 20 long better swimming are for a clown , try to get a Ocellaris Clownfish
as they stay a lot smaller than the others since you plan on a small tank
as for rock just get base rock 1# to 1 1/2# per gal

I'm gonna start the sand and rock in the 10 gallon and them get a 30 or so gallon with a bowed front and then add the fish
__________________
sweetcarolinex3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 07:47 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
Then why not just set up the 30?
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 07:57 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bectan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 1,930
Just set up the 30g - I've just moved tanks and it's messy and painful
__________________
Bectan01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:03 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
treemanone2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bridgeport, Ct.
Posts: 2,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetcarolinex3 View Post
I just want to start it in the 10gal and then move to 30gal.

IMO it seems to be more pain than necessary. Once cycled in the 10 and then moved over, you'll need 3 times everything that's in the 10. Then another cycle.
__________________
treemanone2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 11:20 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
sweetcarolinex3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by treemanone2003 View Post
IMO it seems to be more pain than necessary. Once cycled in the 10 and then moved over, you'll need 3 times everything that's in the 10. Then another cycle.

That does sound like a pain. I'll just wait till I can afford a 30 gallon
__________________
sweetcarolinex3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 11:54 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
treemanone2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bridgeport, Ct.
Posts: 2,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetcarolinex3 View Post
That does sound like a pain. I'll just wait till I can afford a 30 gallon

Petco $1/gal is around the corner !!😜😜👍👍
__________________

__________________
treemanone2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
10 gallon, gallon, star, start

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alright so I want to start a saltwater tank. I want to start out pretty cheap GodFan Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 05-18-2012 04:35 PM
Want to start a refuge, dont know where to start Squado Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 11-08-2008 04:21 PM
Wanting to Start a Planted Tank ... Dont Know Where to Start Viperboy Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 03-25-2006 07:48 PM
Pulse start, probe start, electronic?? What's up??? runway1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 02-05-2005 01:09 AM
Want to start a coral/reef system...where to start? rdefino Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-19-2004 10:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.