Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 03-16-2005, 03:34 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 67
Originally Posted by klam
Even if you use existing media your tank might still have a mini-cycle. It would be safe to wait maybe a couple of days and test your tank before adding the clown. No need to add the raw shrimp or the fish for the cycle
This is what I am hoping for......Im gonna watch the amonia levels, to see what happens. Im going to do this as a surprise, but it will be originally set up in my room....

neon_hybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 04:02 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: fayetteville, tn
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to tinman
The filter in that kit your talking about at walmart sucks. I have a ten gallon SW set up and have got away with not having a powerhead by using a HOB filter rated for a 20-60 gallon. I have it sitting right in the middle on the back wall of the tank and it produces perfect current to the whole tank. I used a skilter 250 but I would say the regent 20-40 filter that sales for $30 at walmart would be just as good. Also the kit at walmart has Incandlescent lights. If it were me I would peice my own kit together.

tank-9.99 walmart
heater - 13.99 walmart
filter(regent stated above)- 29.99 walmart
Flourescent hood - 19.99 walmart

alittle more expensive, but I started my sons barb tank in one of those kits. Within 6 months the only peice I was still using was the tank.

just my 2 cents

tinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 04:52 PM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I use a whisper power filter as a fuge and a minjet ph for my 10 gal.

I also used LR and LS from my existing system and saw no real cycle. I have only had corals in it though.

*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote

10 gallon, set up, tan, tank set up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Tank Set Up 29 Gallon Everlasting Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 9 10-29-2008 05:25 AM
best set up for 90 gallon reef tank katz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-20-2004 05:30 PM
got my other 10 gallon qt tank set up and quarryshark Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 08-04-2004 11:41 AM
Set up for 30 gallon tank Sephrow Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2004 01:14 AM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.