Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-16-2005, 03:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 67
10 gallon tank set up

My roommate has a 5 year old daughter who wants "nemo". I dont want another clown in my tank, and have been thinking of setting up her a tank in her room. I would be the one taking care of the tank, but I was walking through walmart, and saw they have a 10 gallon tropical fish tank with heater, lights, and fliter for like 30$. Every saltwater tank I have seen has a sump, but I know for a 10 gallon there is no need for it. Would I be safe putting about 10 lbs of argonate substrate in the tank and 1 large peice 8-10 lb live rock in there for her? If I cycle the tank, it should work right? I was thinking of taking an existing peice of live rock from my tank an put it in this one, as well as take about 5 gallons of water from my tank, and 5 gallons of new salt water. If it comes with the heater, and the lights, and I do the LR, substrate and water, is there anything else I will need? I dont want to run a skimmer, either...
__________________

__________________
neon_hybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 03:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Titusville FL
Posts: 89
From what I have heared it sound like a nano tank minus the coral. You might want to get a power head for water movement they are very cheap and would help alot in gas exchange. You will need to keep up on the water changes butI dont see no reason it wouldnt work.
__________________

__________________
MikeyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 03:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 1,510
A clown needs a bigger tank generally. A 20 probably doesn't cost much more. You don't have to have a skimmer or a sump on anything smaller than a 20 or so. Yeah it's great for water quality but with that small of a tank it's just too easy to do frequent water changes. We have a maroon clown in a 20 with a very good filter and about 25 pounds of base and live rock and the water stays perfect. Plus your tank will cycle faster if you use water and filter media from your main tank.
__________________
Good luck! Kat
90 malawia cichlid
55 planted tropical community
http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=fishfree
electrikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 03:57 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 67
Will I actually have to cycle the tank? I am assuming that becuase I am going to use an existing peice of live rock, I shouldnt actually have to cycle the tank. I should be able to put the LR in there, an fill it with salt water and it should work right?
__________________
neon_hybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 03:57 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 547
You still need to cycle it.
__________________
JPloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 03:59 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 1,510
You are going to have an ammonia spike. I used water, cc,filter media, and lr from my main tank and still had to go through a mini cycle of about 9 days. Keep an eye on it for a few days before buying fish and it will save your daughter some heartache.
__________________
Good luck! Kat
90 malawia cichlid
55 planted tropical community
http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=fishfree
electrikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 04:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 67
Since I am using existing media which already has the benificial bacteria, will I still need to add a fish (or dead shrimp) to cycle it? I was hoping just by putting the LR in there, I wouldnt have to do that...
__________________
neon_hybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 04:06 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 730
A perc or ocellaris clown will do good in a 10g. Joyce Wilkerson states in her book that a 10g will house a pair of clowns just fine.

Definately get a small powerhead that is rated for around 100/gph. You probably won't need a stronger power head since you will be having only a fish and maybe some inverts
__________________
Paintballs look like bubble gum
14G starphire,150W MH+32W act03,AquaClear 150 HOB filter, 75W EboJager, IceProbe chiller, Remora skimmer, closed loop SCWD mag5, auto toper-offer.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...lam/banner.jpg
klam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 04:13 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 1,510
You can cycle with live rock only. Even if you didn't have the other tanks bacteria as a starter.
__________________
Good luck! Kat
90 malawia cichlid
55 planted tropical community
http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=fishfree
electrikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 04:15 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 730
Even if you use existing media your tank might still have a mini-cycle. It would be safe to wait maybe a couple of days and test your tank before adding the clown. No need to add the raw shrimp or the fish for the cycle
__________________

__________________
Paintballs look like bubble gum
14G starphire,150W MH+32W act03,AquaClear 150 HOB filter, 75W EboJager, IceProbe chiller, Remora skimmer, closed loop SCWD mag5, auto toper-offer.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...lam/banner.jpg
klam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
10 gallon, set up, tan, tank set up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Tank Set Up 29 Gallon Everlasting Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 9 10-29-2008 06:25 AM
best set up for 90 gallon reef tank katz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-20-2004 06:30 PM
got my other 10 gallon qt tank set up and quarryshark Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 08-04-2004 12:41 PM
Set up for 30 gallon tank Sephrow Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2004 02:14 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.