Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-29-2012, 01:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

100 gallon newbie here.... HELP!

So I am getting a new 100gallon tank this weekend and would like to set it up as a Salt water. I have a current Saltwater tank set up @ 30 gallons and jsut want more...lol

Questions:
1. Does anyone know where I can purchase dead rock in Calgary or a good in expensive place for live rock?
2. How much should I get?
3. How long should I cycle the tank before I put anything in it? (the 30 gallon cycled for a few days before I added hermit crabs to it.)

Any other advice would be AWESOM!!!

Old 08-29-2012, 02:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jennifer_luna
So I am getting a new 100gallon tank this weekend and would like to set it up as a Salt water. I have a current Saltwater tank set up @ 30 gallons and jsut want more...lol

Questions:
1. Does anyone know where I can purchase dead rock in Calgary or a good in expensive place for live rock?
2. How much should I get?
3. How long should I cycle the tank before I put anything in it? (the 30 gallon cycled for a few days before I added hermit crabs to it.)

Any other advice would be AWESOM!!!
I would recommend just getting dead base rock from reefrocks.net. Great rock at a killer price. I like using it versus live rock because I can keep pest out.

Are you planning on breaking down the other tank? If so, just seed the base rock in the 100 gallon with the live rock you have in the 30. Way cheaper to go this way.

Old 08-29-2012, 02:28 PM   #3

Thanks I will have to look into that, We are not going to close down the other tank we are just looking to start a newone. we were going to take a few of the live rock pcs out of it to start the new tank though...