10g new conversion to sw log

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

o.jonathan.o

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So I have a 10gallon tank that I want to make into a saltwater tank. Yes I know I'm limited on fish but that's okay with me. So to get started I have some questions!!!

1. What type of equipment will I need to run a sw tank?
2. What types of sw fish can I have for a 10g tank?
3. I'm new to sw and this will be my first tank so I need all the advice I can get.
4. NO put Downs allowed on this thread, so if its not related to this topic please DONT post here. I know a 10g sw tank will be hard due to small amount of water

Thanks in advance to everyone who helps

No I started on a 75g and then upgraded to the 150g. Its really the same thing just smaller and a little harder since your dealing with less water. Good Luck!!!!!!!!

I've have everything from a 4g pico to a 125g reef. :)

It is harder anda bit more time consuming to do a 10g and it does have it's limits as far as stocking. For instance I wouldnt put a pair of clowns in just a ten, but there are a ton of other option.

Lookie here

Nano Fish

Also here are some basic articles about starting up a sw tank.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f14/stock-list-and-tips-for-maintaining-your-sw-tank-73477.html
Cycle your salt tank

Hope that helps a bit!

Good luck let us know how you do!

Well I definitely want a pair of clowns (these are the nemo fish right) and I might want a anemone that they play in but what all equipment will I need for a 10g because right now its just a tank

Ahh you may run into an issue there. Sorry. :-(

A pair of clowns would require a 20g tank at best and the nem would require a super duper light fixture that I can tell you won't be cheap. It;s also best to add a nem to an established tank with absolutely pristine water.