Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-03-2014, 10:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6
125 g reef

Hey everybody I have a question. How long should I cycle my water before I add fish?


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
salty tree 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 11:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dragon.goby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA, Ca, Yucaipa
Posts: 252
It's not about how long, it's about when the water is ready. Buy a test kit and when you see nitrates you'll know it's almost done. Once you see nitrates keep testing until they are at 0. You can then add fish.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Dragon.goby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 11:53 PM   #3
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,549
Once you get everything ready to cycle, your time will start when you present an ammonia source. I always recommend cycling with a cocktail shrimp as it is simple and once you can't detect any ammonia or nitrite levels, you are free to add a fish. It takes any measuring and dosing the tank with pure ammonia out of the picture and less likely to make any mistakes.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 02:39 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dragon.goby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA, Ca, Yucaipa
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
Once you get everything ready to cycle, your time will start when you present an ammonia source. I always recommend cycling with a cocktail shrimp as it is simple and once you can't detect any ammonia or nitrite levels, you are free to add a fish. It takes any measuring and dosing the tank with pure ammonia out of the picture and less likely to make any mistakes.

+1 on this


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Dragon.goby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reef

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Our 125 gal REEF and 45 gal FOWLR kjord97 Show Off/Photography 6 09-22-2005 11:51 AM
Have my new 125 gallon tank, what do I need for a reef setup gsxrguru2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 05-27-2005 05:30 PM
4 Tangs in 125 gallon reef too much ? gatr_head Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 03-23-2005 05:57 PM
Just purchased a 125 gallon and want to set up a reef nicole Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 02-07-2005 10:47 PM
lights for 125 reef tank saltwateraddict Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 06-04-2003 01:24 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.