Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-23-2006, 07:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 349
135 gallon tank overflow...

Ok, I went to my lfs today and was advised I need to get TWO overflows for my 135 gallon tank into my sump. is this true?

Can I just get one overflow, and have a powerhaed in the opposite end of the tank to create a current?

Also how many GPH pump should I get?

From my understanding I need two pumps. One for my sump, and one for my skimmer. You know what GPH I should get for each?

I found an overflow. You think this will work for my 135 gallon tank?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Siphon-Aquarium-...em160042174235
__________________

__________________
ozorowsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 07:55 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I just dont think that will be enough turnover. Most tanks that size have 2 overflows but this is not a specialty subject of mine. Maybe someone with experience can help. Sorry
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 07:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 349
Now the one in the link has 2 heads and says it supports up to 200gal tank. Thoughts?
__________________
ozorowsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 08:29 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Oh OK I missed that. It might be OK then.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 09:33 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 349
also what GPH pumps should I be using on the skimmer, and the refugium pump? Thanks.
__________________
ozorowsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 02:52 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
I cant give you numbers, but you will need a rahter large pump I think for the sump, seeing as how it has to pump water upwards a few feet. The lower your sump is in relation to your tank, the larger pump you need. And idfferant brands will work differant went pumping upwards.

i.e. the higher you try and pum the water, the more flow you will lose form the pump, and not all pumps are created equal.

a 250gph pump made from brand y when pumping from a sump 4 ft lower than the main tank to the main tank may only have finaly output of 150gph, whereas the 225gph pump from brand x would, under the same circumstances, put out 175gph.

Basically your gonna need to find someone with a decent amount of experience to tell you
__________________
Jarred Darque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 10:39 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
The overflow you provided in the link isnít a dual output overflow. At $29 itís probably an Odyssey overflow which doesnít have the best track record for performance.

Iíd get a CPR CS102 Overflow which has dual 1Ē outlets for up to 1200 GPH. A Mag 9.5 pump should give you around 800 gph turnover in the sump. Iíd build your own sump to save $$$

You will still need two powerheads in the tank like two Maxi-Jet 1200 or Seio Pumps to get your total tank turn over per hour 15+.

Most skimmers you buy come with a pump. Do you have a skimmer without a pump now and if so what brand?
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 10:59 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Check out the Aqua C EV180 skimmer. Marine Depot has it with a Mag 7 I believe. Also with a speed fiiting for calk reactors. Nice IMO.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 07:35 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 139
Send a message via Yahoo to alaher2
I was wondering on this exact same product, does anyone have any experience with this overflow? I would really appreciate some advice on this product.
__________________
alaher2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 10:41 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Why did the LFS say you HAD to have an overflow? An overflow with a sump setup is great to have and I would not have a tank that did not BUT you don't have to gave one. You can use PH's to get the turnover you need.

Most reef ready tanks have two overflows rated at 600 gph each. A single overflow could handle it if it was rated at the flow you wanted. You could run 600 gph and then just supplement with PH's or even add a closed loop.

A sump set up gives you a place for equipment and adds water volume to your system. Either way, you buy a pump based on what the overflow will handle, nothing more. I use a mag7 on my skimmer which is the biggest it will take with the current configuration.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5 gallon, flow, overflow, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
135 gallon 4 sale kickeralpine Archive 3 04-23-2007 08:43 AM
new ottos just added to 135 gallon tank kickeralpine Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 02-09-2007 06:00 PM
135 gallon stocklist bonnie3188 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 05-20-2006 07:46 PM
135 gallon upgrade advice hacksaw_dan Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 05-28-2004 10:57 AM
need overflow and pump for 150 gallon tank aimeovaldi Archive 1 05-19-2003 03:09 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.