Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-28-2003, 02:38 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sherman, texas-college in arlington,tx near Dallas
Posts: 324
Send a message via AIM to dustybrannum Send a message via MSN to dustybrannum Send a message via Yahoo to dustybrannum
180 gallon new tank setup

Ok, I have many questions overall but I will start with only a few. I am putting at least a 4" DSB, using Southdown my local HD oredered from Pennsylvania (about $11 a 50lb bag with shipping), in my 180 gallon Oceanic. Its shape is 6'(long)x2'x2'. I am not planning on using a sump due to the fact that my tank is not drilled. I have a Red Sea Berlin Turbo XL w/pump as my skimmer. I put a shelf on the back of my tank and put the skimmer on top so that I have easy access to remove the cup. Now for the question:

The pump for the skimmer is supposed to "skim" the water off of the top of the tank, therefore I need to get a hang on overflow box and put the pump to the skimmer inside? Then have the output of the skimmer drain into a part of the aquarium away from the overflow box?

FYI: I am using 6 powerheads to move around my water so as not to create any dead spots. With the original glass top on the aquarium, having it full of just plain tap water and circulating with my power heads the temp stays at about 88 degrees F. Why is it so high? I opened the front lids for about 5 hours and it dropped to 82. Do the powerheads produce that much heat? Especially since I have not even been running any lights. The ambient temperature of that room stays below 80 and there is no direct sunlight on the tank. Well so much for me picking your brains for now. Thanks for any responses you have or suggestions.
__________________

__________________
dustybrannum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 10:07 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Crystal Lake, IL USA
Posts: 179
Quote:
The pump for the skimmer is supposed to "skim" the water off of the top of the tank, therefore I need to get a hang on overflow box and put the pump to the skimmer inside? Then have the output of the skimmer drain into a part of the aquarium away from the overflow box?
Well.. Overflows go straight to the sump normally and I would not attach one to the skimmer. Skimmers need a optimal waterflow to work their best. It is really hard to control the flow rate of the overflow box. That being said, I would put a sump in because if you get an overflow box then you don't need to drill your tank. 10gal tank at worst case and then attach everything to that. The skimmer does not have to be "skimming" the very top of the water. By adding an overflow box that will pull water in from the surface, so no need to worry about that. --If you are dead set against a sump then just submerge the skimmer's pump neer the surface of the tank and then have the skimmer drain in another part of the tank. No overflow box is needed then.

As for the temp, it is much easier to heat water then to cool it. At 200 gals the tank will retain much more heat. I would say no though to 6 powerheads giving off that much heat. Maybe the heater is off in some way? if there is nothing in the tank, un-plug or turn down (5degs) the heater and see where it goes. Most folks on here run their tanks open(no lids) because it aids in cooling the tank via evaporation.

have fun!
__________________

__________________
David


125gal Reef
55gal sump
AquaC EV-120 Skimmer
Arctica 1/4hp Chiller
3 x 250W MH 10K and 2 x 165W VHO Actinics
mulron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 10:19 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
The pump for the skimmer is supposed to "skim" the water off of the top of the tank, therefore I need to get a hang on overflow box and put the pump to the skimmer inside? Then have the output of the skimmer drain into a part of the aquarium away from the overflow box?
I honestly see no good way to do this. You can simply put the pump in the bottom of the tank, it doesn't have to skim, but it will be more efficient if it is fed surface skimmed water. The best way for this to happen is going to be to use a sump. You can purchase external overflows for this purpose, personally I wouldn't have such a large tank without a sump. If you really want to do it this way, I would recommend posting in the DIY forum and seeing if the hardcore DIYers can come up with something

Quote:
With the original glass top on the aquarium, having it full of just plain tap water and circulating with my power heads the temp stays at about 88 degrees F. Why is it so high?
The glass tops are hindering evaporation which is how the water cools itself. Remove the glass tops completely and you should notice it come down to the room temp or very close. Add a fan blowing across the surface and it should come down a few more degrees
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 12:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sherman, texas-college in arlington,tx near Dallas
Posts: 324
Send a message via AIM to dustybrannum Send a message via MSN to dustybrannum Send a message via Yahoo to dustybrannum
My fear with adding a sump is that we have a lot of power outages where i live and I am afraid the overflow/siphon box will drain the tank into the floor if my return pump goes out.
__________________
Dusty Brannum
dustybrannum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 01:29 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
There are very simple ways to prevent this More on that when I come back from the LFS
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 01:44 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Crystal Lake, IL USA
Posts: 179
I'm sure Kevin will give ya few more ideas but here are some:
Buy a UPS(Battery backup) and hookup just the pumps to it. If you commonly have outages then this can save your tank by keeping the flow going if the outage lasts a long time.

Also you can buy/get a bigger sump to handle the water the overflow box would transfer to the sump w/o the pump putting it back into the tank. Meaning if your tank is 6'x2'x2' = the overflow will probably go down 2" into the tank. So the total gals for this would be:

6' x 2' x 2" x7.5 = 15.1 gals

So as long as you have room in your sump to hold 15 extra gals then you will not have spill over.

Hope it helps.
__________________
David


125gal Reef
55gal sump
AquaC EV-120 Skimmer
Arctica 1/4hp Chiller
3 x 250W MH 10K and 2 x 165W VHO Actinics
mulron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 02:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sherman, texas-college in arlington,tx near Dallas
Posts: 324
Send a message via AIM to dustybrannum Send a message via MSN to dustybrannum Send a message via Yahoo to dustybrannum
You know mulron as an engineer that should have been evident to me but I guess sometimes the obvious is not so obvious when you are stressing about something. Thank you very much for that insight.
__________________
Dusty Brannum
dustybrannum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 02:10 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sherman, texas-college in arlington,tx near Dallas
Posts: 324
Send a message via AIM to dustybrannum Send a message via MSN to dustybrannum Send a message via Yahoo to dustybrannum
I have several 10 gallons, 2-20 gallons, 45, 55 gallon FW tanks at my house. Any ideas on which would be best for a sump? Currently I have 4 36" hoods that came with the tank, I bought two blue actinics and two whites. Will this be enough to get started with some fish and live rock?
Also, what is the best return pump for my sump? Should I put some of my Southdown in the sump tank and does it need light?

I bet you guys feel like you keep saying the same things to new guys. You are a great help!
__________________
Dusty Brannum
dustybrannum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 04:52 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
If you drill a hole in your return line at the waters surface, when the pump shuts off the hole will such air and stop any back siphon. Preventing the drain from draining too much water is simply a matter of adjusting the inside box

For a 180g tank, I'd go with the 55g for a sump
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 01:45 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Crystal Lake, IL USA
Posts: 179
Quote:
have several 10 gallons, 2-20 gallons, 45, 55 gallon FW tanks at my house. Any ideas on which would be best for a sump?
I agree with Kevin on the 55gal. More water the better. Besides it will add more room for equipment you may need. And also the hole he suggests will save yea.



Quote:
Currently I have 4 36" hoods that came with the tank, I bought two blue actinics and two whites. Will this be enough to get started with some fish and live rock?
I'm assuming these are NO lights(ie 40W). Should be ok for fish. I'd have to double check on the LR though.


Quote:
Also, what is the best return pump for my sump?
Matter of opinion on a pump brand really, but stay away from RIOs. For an overflow box I would go no less than 800GPH with a 1200GPH pump. Head ht will reduce the GPH on the pump so that is why it is more.


Quote:
Should I put some of my Southdown in the sump tank and does it need light?
Nope and Nope, just throw all the junk you don't want to see in the tank in there.



Have fun!
__________________

__________________
David


125gal Reef
55gal sump
AquaC EV-120 Skimmer
Arctica 1/4hp Chiller
3 x 250W MH 10K and 2 x 165W VHO Actinics
mulron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
180 gallon, new tank setup, setup, tan, tank setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
180 Gallon Tank meek13 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 01-03-2010 05:10 PM
Air Pump for 180 gallon setup jnalbach General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 12-07-2009 01:16 AM
My new 180 gallon tank! Need Help!! jasonwilks Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 11-17-2009 12:42 PM
Stingtrays, 180 Gallon Setup, etc... near Philly DocBob Archive 12 11-12-2004 11:45 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.