2. Gallon tank. Salinty, ph, everything.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dylan5359

Aquarium Advice Addict
So it's day one of cycling. My ph is low and my salinity is high. I read I can just buy a buffer so ill do that tomorrow. Fr my salinity can i just do a small water change and replace it with declorinized water? Any tips are helpful. And for regular mantience on the tank, to keep nitrite and ammonia at 0 as well as nitrate, (when my tank is established) will weekly 10% of water changes keep them low? Any tips will help. Thanks guys.

I'm new to this also but in cycling I don't think you need to worry about ph. It's natural for the ammonia, nitrate and nitrite to spike so I don't think you should be doing any water changes. I'm just about two weeks into my cycle and it's not even close to being done. I've been told, and read through the expert advice on this site that water changes during cycling is not a good idea

i also just started to cycle my 2 gallon saltwater! my readings were:
77*F
ammonia:4ppm
nitrite: .25ppm
nitrate: between 5 and 10 (colors are too close)
Ph: 8.2
salinity: 1.22 (i keep it lower because of evaporation)

i had higher salinity earlier so i just took water out and added fresh water (dechlorinated) do you have any fish in the tank?

No. I'm doing fish less cycling. Using a raw piece of shrimp. Lol mine is 76 degrees ;))! My salinity is at a .026 which is high and considering its going to be a dwarf seahorse tank, i wanna get that salinity between .017-.023. Im also going to just stabilize the PH at a 8.4 because dwarves prefer it at that. So what dish are going to be in your tank?

probably just inverts, maybe some coral eventually. mini seahorses sound really cool!