20-30g SW tank setup ideas, few Q's!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

absolutrebel28

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all, this is my first post here and I work at the only local LFS in Kirksville, MO, and about a month ago my employer had me research and set up a 46g Saltwater display tank with a large sump filtering system. I may from time to time post questions about any problems we encounter, so fall we have had no fatalities other than species that were extremely risky to begin with, and ordered without my real okay (ie. octopus and sea horse, starfish) We used CaribSea live rock for that application, i think 40 or 60lbs.

Now that I have fully caught the sea-life craze, i am definetely wanting to setup a SW tank. Since i'm a college student, it will have to be realistically sized and funded. Thus far I have ordered,

*20lb Tidal Marina -- Gray Coast Calcite
*2lbs live sand -- Source: CaribSea Aragamax
***I love the look of dark sand, and have Tahitian Moon Sand in my Malawi cichlid tank. My question however is, how will the white and dark gray substrates mix? Can I put the live sand on the bottom with the gray calcite over it? How should I go about arranging that substrate? Also what exactly is calcite, and does it effect any water levels?

*Second, I have a Oddysea 65w Daylight 12000k with a 65w blue Actinic Bulb, is this a good combination for a saltwater tank? Is it even better for a coral tank? I am almost as interested in live coral as i am in the fish and invertebrates, but I still am in the process of learning what coral actually is, and how the organisms that live on them (polyps and others) actually function.

*I will be probably running a HOB Hagen 20g filter that I have new, with a powerhead for extra water movement, and I will have an appropriate and effective heater. A protein skimmer may lie in future.