20 gal saltwater setup?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HalfMoon B

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have consolidated all of my freshwater tanks into a larger 40 gal breeder, so I now have a spare 20 gal, and a few others (hospital tanks is my plan)
how plausible is it to have a 20 gallon saltwater set up for only two clownfish?
Is it even worth seting up a sump/refugium on a tank that size, or would diligent water/tank maintenance be better?
TIA!

Its def worth it, even for 2 clownfish. With a 20g diligent pwc's and testing will control the parameters, but a sump/refugium will make life easier and also stabilize things. If you have the tank, I'd do a sump/refugium

I do have a spare 10 gallon, but that would be DIY and I have little knowledge/understanding of a refugium. This would be my first venture into the salty world...

Refugiums are cake work, I have 2-10 gallon rubbermaids setup for my 125, you'd prob be best splitting the 10g in 75/25 and using the bigger chamber for your filtration and then smaller chamber for return pump

In all honesty, I probably wouldn't bother with a sump on a 20g. I'm also of the quicker and easier way to do things. LOL

A really good hob filter and weekly water changes should keep your water in check.

You'll also have to decide if you want corals as the lighting can blow a budget real quick. :)

I also don't think you need a skimmer, again, pwc's done each week will export the nutrients out.

I wasn't planning on water changes. I change water EVERY Sunday, if not Thursday as well. Considering I have almost no knowledge of Simpson at this time, a good HOB and a powerhead for current should work right?
Live rock only for now, might upgrade to lights and corals later on....