20 gallon reef - first SW tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Higman

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,

I'm a FW veteran, but completely new to SW. I've got a 20 gallon (that's UK gallons, so probably 22-25 US gallons) that I would like to convert from freshwater to salt. I've been doing a lot of research into marine aquaria, and believe this to be about the right size for what SW hobbyists consider to be a "nano reef". Ideally I would like a larger tank to achieve better stocking and water quality, but this not possible due to both space and cost.

My current FW setup is a fairly simple one. I've got a TetraTec EX700 canister, and a decent quality TetraTec heater.

After researching and researching, and finding a lot of conflicting information on the internet, I've come up with what I believe to be a fairly stable setup that I would like to attempt. Before I start though, I'd like to run it past you guys to see what you think.

Here's what I'm thinking:

Remove substrate from tank, and take out filter media. Buy a stack of activated carbon ready for use.
Lay down some decent white sand.
Buy 2lbs of LR per gallon. Allow LR to seed sand.
Place LR fragments, Bio Home, or similar into canister.
Purchase a decent PH or two.
Either purchase or DIY a protein skimmer.
Get some decent lighting, thinking somewhere in the region of 150 watts.
I have a 3 gallon glass tank that I'm thinking I could use as a sump. I really like the idea of being able to top off the tank from a sump rather than having to pour water into and therein disturb the main display tank.

Also I've read that many people with tanks of this size have found that they have been successful without filters or skimmers, and instead simply rely on just a sump. I'd be interested to know more about that because the low tech approach is very appealing to my wallet!