Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-26-2013, 08:50 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickriley2010 View Post
For the storage do you have it sitting in your closet and pump it in? What kind of pump ? Do I need that many water blowers with no coral ?
The RO/DI storage is in my laundry room. For a 20 gallon tank, it's just a 5 gallon bucket. See this video I put up on YouTube: My laundry room RO/DI installation - YouTube

When I do water changes, I just siphon it out into another 5 gallon bucket (about 2 1/2 gallons of water per change, as there is only about 15 gallons in the tank..rock and sand take up the rest of the volume). I typically mix the salt in the fresh water the day before so it aerates and completely mixes in, then add it.

For the initial saltwater "load" of 15-20 gallons, I bought a 20 gallon Brute can w/ lid. I keep it around, just in case.

You do want good flow, to keep dead spots from forming. I use the two Hydors in the tank, connected to a SmartWave controller to vary the flow. The Marineland pump is only used to mix the saltwater.
__________________

__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 03:00 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
patrickriley2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmolavi View Post

The RO/DI storage is in my laundry room. For a 20 gallon tank, it's just a 5 gallon bucket. See this video I put up on YouTube: My laundry room RO/DI installation - YouTube

When I do water changes, I just siphon it out into another 5 gallon bucket (about 2 1/2 gallons of water per change, as there is only about 15 gallons in the tank..rock and sand take up the rest of the volume). I typically mix the salt in the fresh water the day before so it aerates and completely mixes in, then add it.

For the initial saltwater "load" of 15-20 gallons, I bought a 20 gallon Brute can w/ lid. I keep it around, just in case.

You do want good flow, to keep dead spots from forming. I use the two Hydors in the tank, connected to a SmartWave controller to vary the flow. The Marineland pump is only used to mix the saltwater.
I take it you took the filter cartridge out of the pump so it just circulates water ? Also can an RO/DI system work for freshwater tanks ? Or does it take too much out of the water ? JW as I will still have my 20 fresh and 10 fresh

Also I live in an apartment it's a bummer my UNit has a closet in the kitchen too bad it's not in my living room where then tanks are and my apartment is pretty word down :/ but I'm sure I could make room in my camera gear closet
__________________

__________________
Fish
patrickriley2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 03:02 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
patrickriley2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bectan01 View Post
I have a fire fish and he eats flakes (or anything really) but if you mean FILE fish, then that's a different story, they can be fussy eaters...
I meant fire
__________________
Fish
patrickriley2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:34 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickriley2010 View Post
I take it you took the filter cartridge out of the pump so it just circulates water ? Also can an RO/DI system work for freshwater tanks ? Or does it take too much out of the water ? JW as I will still have my 20 fresh and 10 fresh

Also I live in an apartment it's a bummer my UNit has a closet in the kitchen too bad it's not in my living room where then tanks are and my apartment is pretty word down :/ but I'm sure I could make room in my camera gear closet
The pump in the SW mix bucket is just a powerhead pump, not a filter.

You can use RO water in a FW tank, but you will need to remineralize it with something like Seachem Replenish, or your FW fish will die. IMHO, it's not worth it, since you're just replacing one additive (Prime, or whatever dechlorinator you use) with another to remineralize the water.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 09:19 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmolavi View Post

The RO/DI storage is in my laundry room. For a 20 gallon tank, it's just a 5 gallon bucket. See this video I put up on YouTube: My laundry room RO/DI installation - YouTube
.
Question. You can't keep the RO/DI running? I could see it being pointless if your only doing once a week changes but you it to where it will stop producing water in the bucket so why do you turn the water to the system off?
__________________
JumperGirl117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 09:24 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
I turn it off because when I run the washer, I get a water hammer effect in the line (rapid changing of pressure as the washer fills). I don't want to damage the canisters, so I shut off the feed to the RO when I do the wash.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 09:30 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmolavi View Post
I turn it off because when I run the washer, I get a water hammer effect in the line (rapid changing of pressure as the washer fills). I don't want to damage the canisters, so I shut off the feed to the RO when I do the wash.
Gotcha. And thanks for the explanation it wouldn't have occurred to me until I sat there all day and watched after breaking a fee of the canisters lol
__________________
JumperGirl117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 09:31 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
I don't know if it would have cracked them, but I didn't want to take the chance. I actually have two shutoff valves in the system, the one I show in the video, and then the one included by BRS with the RO unit (I leave that one 'on' all the time, but put it there in case the other one fails for some reason).
__________________

__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
20 gallon, start

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.