Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-05-2009, 05:47 PM   #121
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 564
okay today i checked my levels again... been adding 50 ml of ammonia every day... puts it to about 4ppm sometimes 5 daily

todays levels... before adding ammonia

Ammonia 0.... should i be worried or pleased?
N02 1ppm could this be my spike? how high is a normal spike?
NO3 20
ph7.8


good bad... ugly?

-Brad
__________________

__________________
Brad.Sedore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 07:32 PM   #122
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Good. The 0 ammonia means that you've developed enough bacteria to convert the 4-5ppm of ammonia you're dosing daily. Now, it's a different bacteria that converts the nitrIte, and you're just waiting for them to catch up to what the first type of bacteria can do, then you're done.

Keep feeding the ammonia so that those bacteria don't starve to death waiting on the others.

Also, your NO3 measurements are likely unrealistic, as IME high 'trites will cause that test to not read accurately. It's good to see if they're moving or not, but don't be surprised if it holds at 20ish, then the day your 'trIte drops to 0 they jump up to 40. Mine just did that to me a few days ago, and every tank I've cycled has acted that way.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 07:37 PM   #123
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 564
so when i go to my tank in the morning.. and it reads 0 N02... im done?
__________________
Brad.Sedore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 07:58 PM   #124
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West LA, CA
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to bawel Send a message via Skype™ to bawel
Hi Brad,

Give it a day or two, if it stays 0, I think most likely your cycle is done, and time to PWC. What's the whole readings on the parameter?
__________________
Jenny-BaweL
~Reef Tank~
28GL BF, Hydor Koralia Nano PH, AquaClear 50 with LRR, 24" Nova Extreme T5HO, 20Lbs LS and 35Lbs LR
bawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:15 PM   #125
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 564
i only did the 3.. because i assumed that thats all i needed... i tested everything else yesterday... it should all be on page 12 of the thread... this thing better turn out good if its costing all you people this much reading time lol

-Brad
__________________
Brad.Sedore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:24 PM   #126
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
lol - you're right, only worry about Ammonia, nitrIte and nitrAte for now. I didn't even bother with nitrAte until the cycle was done. Just a waste of test kit IMO.

But yes, when everything hits 0, you're done. Dose ammonia 1 more time and make sure it's all gone in 24 hours to be sure, but that's it. Large water change to get nitrAtes down, and you're all set.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:34 PM   #127
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 564
sweet... how high do no2s usually go up before they go down... just cant wait to get some turbos in there to eat up this hair algae.

-Brad
__________________
Brad.Sedore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:54 PM   #128
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Hard to say. I only saw mine get to 2, but it depends on how much bacteria you already had and a lot of factors.

Previous fishless cycles (FW) I've seen them get to over 5
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:56 PM   #129
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 564
my freshwater went off the chart. but i figured there was a world of difference.

-Brad
__________________
Brad.Sedore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 10:13 PM   #130
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
the only difference is that your rock was somewhat live when you put it in. Compare that to a freshie using seed material, and there's no difference in what you're doing now vs. what you did in your FW tank.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
29 gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suprise :) DizzCat Cichlid Discussion 18 09-21-2009 02:11 PM
Bad Suprise HoCkEyGmC Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 7 02-03-2009 10:09 AM
Suprise!!! Update 03/06/07 Zagz Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 11 06-03-2007 07:05 PM
Ummm suprise!! Zagz Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 16 07-15-2006 10:08 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.