Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-17-2011, 05:10 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by squishy1992 View Post
Yeah, I think I'd opt for a simple twin-tube florescent fixture for now, and maybe a couple weeks before I start introducing corals would be when I would get the T5? Oh well, that's a little while down the road.

Now, would the sump help out a little with maintaining water quality since there would be roughly 30% more water? And what kinds of equipment would I be looking for? I was thinking maybe x2 100 watt heaters (in case of failure, then I could at least have one good one) but that's about it. How would I use chemical media (carbon, zeo-carb, etc...) with a sump? And is there a way to use a water-polishing filter of some sort with that, too?
The sump volume does help with your parameters(more water=less fluctuation,temp,salinity,etc)but is a good place to put your 2x heaters,skimmer,filter,also a good place to fill with RO/DI and saltwater,I also put coral food in the return pump section for good circulation and not forgetting a place for your bad crabs.The skimmer size to get would be for a 60g+ and i hear octopus are good,I use a TMC(english)
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 10:44 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 70
I'm actually thinking of fixing my own sump out of a 10 gallon I have just sitting around. (I hate to see empty tanks when I can put them to good use!)

So my next question is: do I run open top or with a versa-top? And do I use a top on the sump? What kind of lighting do I use on my sump? Could I just use a normal florescent fixture?
__________________

__________________
kbuser92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 10:48 PM   #13
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Using glass tops is not a good idea because it promotes poor gas echange at the surface causing low PH. Use something like eggcrate or netting.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 10:51 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cen. Cal
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by squishy1992 View Post
I'm actually thinking of fixing my own sump out of a 10 gallon I have just sitting around. (I hate to see empty tanks when I can put them to good use!)

So my next question is: do I run open top or with a versa-top? And do I use a top on the sump? What kind of lighting do I use on my sump? Could I just use a normal florescent fixture?
No top on the tank or sump. And for the sump yes you can use normal florescent. And with the ten gallon as a sump there isn't much room after you put a skimmer in there. I am running a seaclear 20g sump and i had to use a HOB skimmer to save space but thats because I use the big section for a fuge.
__________________
pokmijn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 12:09 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 70
so i could just use egg-crate then, and cut out a hole where the light would shine through and to accommodate the lines for the sump, right? (to avoid lines and such.) as for the sump, do i really need a skimmer on that small of a tank? or i could just do 10% weekly changes? that way i'd have plenty of room in the sump.
__________________
kbuser92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 11:25 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 70
could i maybe do a small school of chromis, too? or remove the dwarf angel and do them instead? i was thinking 3-5...
__________________
kbuser92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 11:29 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
the_fish_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 988
Come on update us pics pics!
__________________
The_Fish_Man otherwise known as Scooby
"Each tank is a different world....... Bored of yours go into your fishes":p
the_fish_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 01:11 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 70
haha, sorry, pictures right now would be boring...both tanks are sitting on the floor empty until i get my trombone fixed next week...3 year olds can make expensive things even more expensive when they find "toys". sorry. : / i still need to figure out my plumbing and such and all the equipment...i'm a very planned person.
__________________
kbuser92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 01:13 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,142
I think with you first fish list you are already overstocked so chromis are a bad idea. Plus I have never had luck with them. I tried twice and they picked eachother off one by one. First a group of 3 then 5.
__________________
95 Gallon reef system
Hinds04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 10:29 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 70
Well, I know I'd like 2 clowns, maybe the Australian Black ones, and I'd like to have the Purple Fire Goby and maybe a Neon Blue Goby, too. I really like how the Flame Dwarf Angels look, they're such pretty fish, but I've heard they're kinda finnicky eaters and I'm not sure they're coral safe, either. And on top of that, I'd just like to have some cleaners; shrimp, hermits, maybe a Chocolate Chip Star, snails, etc...I'm just not sure how many of each.

I'm planning on using 1/4 LR and 3/4 Lacerock (because it's sooo much cheaper and it's the same thing - stuff will eventually grow) so sometime in the future, after I get the tank established, I can add some SPS, mushrooms, and soft corals, like an anemone.

Does this sound acceptable?
__________________

__________________
kbuser92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
30 gallon, mini, reef

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converted 3gal pico to 15 gallon mini reef DJLiquid Nano Reefs 1 12-15-2008 12:29 AM
JBJ's NANO CUBE 12 GALLON GLASS MINI REEF TANK or ...... Steven A Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 05-26-2006 01:34 PM
My 5.5 gallon mini reef MafiaMan Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 6 11-24-2005 03:44 PM
38 gallon mini reef tooldini Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 03-22-2005 10:37 PM
new mini reef Ctlongreef33 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 10-30-2003 12:22 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.