Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 04-18-2012, 03:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
30 gallon saltwater setup

Hey guys I've recently been interested in saltwater aquariums and have been reading about them for the past few days. Now before I do anything, I just wanted to make sure that I have all the right parts. Here is what I am looking at:

-30 gallon acrylic tank (FOWLR)
-T5 HO 4 lamp lunar marine fixture
-Ecotech MP10 vortech pump with driver
-Aquac Remora protein skimmer
-chiller or heater, will test the tank in my area to see if i need either
-wet/dry filter (not really sure which kind, any ideas?)
-test kit

Are sumps really necessary? Since I am a beginner, I want to be able to focus 100% on my tank and with a sump, just feels like more work for me. If anything I could always add a sump later on but I just wanted to know if sumps are really that important.

Any other info would be great!

fishtastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 04:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Hello, welcome to our forums!

Firstly, if you want to take checking salinity to the next level, you could look into refractometers. They will do the same thing as an hydrometer, but they are more accurate.

I would definitely recommend a heater, though, as the tank needs to be kept at about 74-81 degrees F (IMO). You will also want to prevent the temperature from dramatically fluctuating, so a heater would be handy in that circumstance.

For your size tank I would say that a sump is not a necessity. It does, however, add a few benefits.
1. More water volume. The extra water volume is more forgiving if you make a mistake.