30 gallon Set-up

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

--Michael--

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,
I am new to Aquarium Advice, My name is Michael and I have been in the hobby for about 9 years. My experience thus far is only with FO and a basic setup
55g long
XP2 filter
Backpack skimmer
150watt heater
96x4 PC light

I have successfully kept all types of fish most none aggressive fish that I have found like clowns, walruses’, tangs, things of that nature. In a nut shell I feel I am ready to get a little more advance into the trade and want to start a 30g Reef and would like you guys to help guide me and suggest ideas I can try and or steer clear of such as equipment that may be junk, and any idea that you know might not work too well.

Well I guess to get started you need to know my ideas and plan so here goes.

Equipment I have…
30g oceanic aquarium
150 watt HQI lighting I think about 15,000k
25watt UV light from lifeguard
Hang-on back refuge from CPR
CPR Bac-Pac Skimmer (I don’t like)
2 maxi jet 900 power heads
Refractor for measuring the Sg.

I also have available to me about 20 or 30 lbs of live rock from a buddy of mine but its in bad shape and need cleaned.