Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-25-2012, 07:54 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Red44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 353
30 gallon sump

Hi Ill be upgrading from 72 gallon to 135 gallon and was wondering if I could use the same 30 gallon sump and return pump 4500 marineland
__________________

__________________
Red44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 10:10 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
What's the return rated for?
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 10:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Red44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by crister13
What's the return rated for?
It says it pumps 600 gph at 4 feet but it doesn't say what it's rated for
__________________
Red44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 12:24 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
The rate being asked for is the gph at the proper headloss which you gave.

You'll be fine with that pump on your larger tank. I like a low flow in my sump; generally 2-5x my DT. This gives your skimmer more time to do it's work and makes for a more efficient process.

Do you have a reef tank? If you have a reef, you're going to need more flow in your DT. You can do this with power heads etc.
__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 09:44 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Red44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaRick
The rate being asked for is the gph at the proper headloss which you gave.

You'll be fine with that pump on your larger tank. I like a low flow in my sump; generally 2-5x my DT. This gives your skimmer more time to do it's work and makes for a more efficient process.

Do you have a reef tank? If you have a reef, you're going to need more flow in your DT. You can do this with power heads etc.
Thanks yes I have a reef tank I'll get some bigger powerheads
__________________
Red44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
30 gallon, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.