Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-04-2009, 03:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 2
300 Liter -> 1200 Liter --- Ideas??

Hi Peoples,

we have a 300 Liter Salt Water Reef Aqaurium:


We now have received a 1200 Liter (2.5 Meters long) Aquarium, and we now want to build it up, and wondering if anyone has any ideas? Should we start from scratch, or use the 300 Liter contents.
We do want to have a hole drilled in one corner so we can have the filter and stuff below in the cabinet. Any ideas how to test this tank that it has no leaks without filling up ALLL 1200 liters?
__________________

__________________
kleeblatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 04:03 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Seems to me that filling the tank is the only way.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 02:13 AM   #3
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
welcome to AA I am on the same page as Mike, i dont see how there would be a way to test it without filling it up... Are you planning on keeping the current tank as well? If so, i wouldnt take out what you have in it, looks like a nice setup as it is...
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 05:55 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 2
No - we have a small apartment, and one 300 Gallon Saltwater tank will be enough. We are gonna take then the 80 gallon Saltwater tank and turn it into my bass (african chilids) and turtle aquarium. They are currently living in a 20 gallon aquarium and its way to small.

But yeah.. being that we live in Germany, water costs alot, and filling 300 gallons up and throwing it immediately out, will costs a couple hundred euros.

But so then the next question would be... whats the best design for the new aquairum?

Ideas we are pondering:
1. Hire a glass cutter and cut a hole in it, so we can have the equipment tank below. or
2. Have all the equipment hang over the side (will this be enough for 300 gallons? Or will there not be enough room on the side to properly maintain
enough equipment)

3. Inside, we want to take 60% of the length and use for a reef, and then the rest as a sandy beach with an atoll.

4. We had been using Ocean Direct Black Sand... (from Florida), and the we have noticed that alot of our fish are dying and I am wondering if its because of the huge amount of metalic substances in this sand. When our magnet glass scraper falls in the sand, its covered in fine black particles, which shows there is a lot of bad stuff in this sand. we assume this is the reason our fish that scoop up the sand and filter it through their gills keep dying.

So come on peoples... if you had a new 300 Gallon Tank, how would you create it?
__________________
kleeblatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 09:48 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
I'd have it cut and do two overflows in order to do about a 75g (minimum) sump/fuge underneath.

Fill the entire tank with all pumps on to text for leaks - assuming the overflows were all built and the sump is in place.

You will likely be able to use the existing rock, coral, and 10-20% of the current sand with new sand. Use the top portion of the exisiting water - prior to using the stuff after the rocks have been moved and all the foggy stuff gets stirred up. So just about all the existing water, all the rocks, and maybe some sand, with new mixed salt water and you can get going fast.

You likely will not have any cycling, but keep a large volume of ready mix salt water after the move just in case.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2- 2 liter bottles or 1- 4 liter for DIY c02? exactionfigure Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 09-10-2006 12:56 PM
plastic 2 liter soda bottles crazycat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 01-16-2006 07:16 PM
2400 Liter wall Aquarium Bernardo Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 05-09-2005 01:59 AM
converting mg/liter to ppm gone fishin Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 06-23-2004 06:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.