Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 08-01-2011, 12:17 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 159
36" reef lighting / MH question

A long time ago, when getting into the hobby, I bought a really sweet 48" fixture off ebay. When I got it, I found out the moon lights were on the same circuit the actinics were on so I sold it. That light had 2 MH pods, and they said you could put 150w bulbs or 250w bulbs in it.

Fast forward to now. I have acquired a used 46g bowfront on craigslist and I am getting ready to set it up. As I am looking at lights it has occurred to me that my tank has a center brace. This seems to be a problem as most 36" metal halide fixtures have a single MH pod...in the CENTER of the fixture Now if I could cut that center brace away with a dremel that would be perfect, but we all know that's a pretty bad idea, I think.

So I found this:
36" 3 ft Metal Halide T5 HO Light Aquarium Reef 656W | eBay

Now this sort of thing would be perfect for my particular tank, except WOW that's powerful. I don't want an algae farm, a 2k electric bill or a 95 degree tank, so here's my question (FINALLY!)

Can you put a double ended MH bulb of a lower wattage in a circuit that's rated for a higher wattage and have it work just like that fixture I had a while ago? Can I stick 150w DE bulbs or even (omg this would RULE) 70w bulbs? Safely?

If that could happen with the above fixture I'd be in heaven, and so would my corals. Otherwise I'm stuck with unattractive options like Viper clamp lights (that still don't give me actinics or moonlighting) or pendants (same issue). I really want an all in one solution, and both PC and LED fixtures are too expensive (in different ways). Any help would be appreciated.

clearerphish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 02:25 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Gti_Leo's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
no you can't. a ballast is designed to put out the volt-amps it is rated for, puttign a smaller MH lamp will blow it up, putting a larger lamp in a smaller fixture will cause it to not start properly.

most MH ballasts have multitaps in them, meaning you can change the input voltage on them, 120v, 277v, or liek we have here in canada 347v. i'm an electrician and i work with alot of MH highbays (slowy going to fluoros) and my foreman decided when he was renoing his house to take one and beign the lazy dillhole he is he didn't bother changing the tap from 347v to 120v so the 400w lamp barely put out 70 watts worth of light, because the volt-amps of the ballast was not being put out. he eventually kileld the ballasts starter.

moral of the story, use the right ratings, so if its a 250watt, use a 250watt.

why not sell this MH fixture you already have and buy a 4 lamp t5 with individule reflectors. this way you won't block most of te light with the brack, and still be able to grow the same corals you would with a MH and you might have money left over from the sale to buy some high quality ATI lamps

Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 05:42 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 159
Thanks for the reply. Thought it might be a long shot but then again you can put a 25 watt household bulb in a fixture rated for a 100w bulb. I thought it might be like that.

I sold that fixture quite some time ago because it lacked the capability to do what I needed. I don't really want to use T5 or PC because a.) I want to keep the occasional SPS, clam or anemone, and b.) the cost of replacing those bulbs every six months gets pricey quick. what would be perfect is a 70 w MH bulb on either side of the bracket. To do that I may simply have to use a couple of Viper clamps, but I'd prefer the elegant look of an all in one fixture instead of two viper clamps, a PC actinic strip, and moonlights crammed where they can fit.
clearerphish is offline   Reply With Quote

light, lighting, reef

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: 36" HO T5 4 LAMP AQUARIUM LIGHTING SYSTEM in San Diego Luky Archive 9 09-03-2011 11:41 PM
Reef Lighting bootz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 07-18-2011 05:13 AM
lighting question GsxrD Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-06-2011 08:22 PM
Question on LED lighting hackteck General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 07-02-2011 07:37 PM
Lighting Question Patterson333 Cichlid Discussion 11 07-01-2011 07:19 PM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.