Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-16-2013, 04:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
neeker4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 174
3rd week cycling... Readings???

Readings in pics below... Nitrates low, nitrites lowish, ph 8.4-8.5, ammonia looks around 0... Agree or am i reading wrong? Also, what is my next step? I have 7 blue leg hermit crabs my lfs gave me when i bought a piece of LR...



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2982515713.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	99.6 KB
ID:	186512



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-218162554.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	93.5 KB
ID:	186513



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2816268135.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	97.8 KB
ID:	186514



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-151489110.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	93.1 KB
ID:	186515
__________________

__________________
Ok, I am officially hooked now...
neeker4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 04:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tkey3425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 879
That nitrite is too high for live fish right now IMO. Let everything zero out for a while before you add any fish. The crabs may be ok but idk. Wait a week or two after the levels zero out because they will spike right back when you add a fish so do it slow. add one maybe two and wait two weeks and then make sure your levels return back to zero again. If you rush it you will either lose you fish or stress them and shorten their life and make them prone to disease from stress.
__________________

__________________
Tkey3425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 05:10 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
neeker4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 174
Thats what i was thinking but i wanted to be sure..x its hard not to add things after looking at an empty tank for 3 whole weeks... As far as the readings go, are they about where they should be for week 3? I had an uncooked shrimp in there for the first 2 weeks, but it fell out and splattered when i was re-doing my rock work... Nothing has been in there for the last week but i am starting to see some diatom blooms now... Thanks for the reply btw!!!
__________________
Ok, I am officially hooked now...
neeker4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 05:19 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tkey3425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by neeker4 View Post
Thats what i was thinking but i wanted to be sure..x its hard not to add things after looking at an empty tank for 3 whole weeks... As far as the readings go, are they about where they should be for week 3? I had an uncooked shrimp in there for the first 2 weeks, but it fell out and splattered when i was re-doing my rock work... Nothing has been in there for the last week but i am starting to see some diatom blooms now... Thanks for the reply btw!!!
Diatoms are a good sign. Let the diatoms die off. Your cycle may go a little longer than most if the shrimp fell to pieces. What all is on/in your tank for equipment and are you running the filter system?
__________________
Tkey3425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 05:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
neeker4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 174
Its a biocube 14g... Live rubble instead of bioballs, filter pad, uv sterilizer, no heater as temp stays at 80-81 w feeding hood open all the time, and about 15lbs of LR... Should i run the light full time or leave them off?
__________________
Ok, I am officially hooked now...
neeker4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 06:13 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tkey3425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by neeker4 View Post
Its a biocube 14g... Live rubble instead of bioballs, filter pad, uv sterilizer, no heater as temp stays at 80-81 w feeding hood open all the time, and about 15lbs of LR... Should i run the light full time or leave them off?
I left mine off for the cycle. 80-81 seems a little on the high side. I'd play with uv sterilizer on a timer at night when temps are cooler. Really doesn't have to run 24/7. I run mine for 4 hours at night just to let all the water cycle through a couple times. The pump and light will add extra heat and if your lights have been off they will add even more when you do finish you cycle and put it on a lighting schedule
__________________
Tkey3425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 07:46 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
neeker4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 174
My lights are on for about 9-10hrs a day... I will have to look at the uv sterilizer and see if i can turn it on and off(was included with the tank) i am in florida so it can get warm quickly but i keep my condo around 74-75 so hopefully that will help keep the temp as low as possible... What set up do you have? Biocube?
__________________
Ok, I am officially hooked now...
neeker4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 07:55 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tkey3425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by neeker4 View Post
My lights are on for about 9-10hrs a day... I will have to look at the uv sterilizer and see if i can turn it on and off(was included with the tank) i am in florida so it can get warm quickly but i keep my condo around 74-75 so hopefully that will help keep the temp as low as possible... What set up do you have? Biocube?
I have a 180 gallon with a 30 gallon sump. So my uv sterilizer and the pump for it produces significant heat. I keep my house at 68. Do you have any powerheads in the tank? I'd add one if you don't. Just something small like a koralia nano or something.
__________________
Tkey3425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 08:00 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
neeker4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 174
Yeah i have a generic 320gph PH in there under the outlet to add mid to low level flow... Here is a pic of the tank...

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1520715630.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	97.1 KB
ID:	186562

Look ok?
__________________
Ok, I am officially hooked now...
neeker4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 08:04 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tkey3425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by neeker4 View Post
Yeah i have a generic 320gph PH in there under the outlet to add mid to low level flow... Here is a pic of the tank...

Look ok?
Yeah looks good. Are you doing a bare bottom?
__________________

__________________
Tkey3425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.