Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-25-2012, 10:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Angelo,TX
Posts: 17
40 gal start up

Hey everyone! I just got a 40 gallon thank. And I'm looking to make it reef safe tank. It has the lights that came with it. Will I need a sump? I have a 30gal. Will that work as a sump. This will be my second tank. The first wasn't reef safe though. Any suggestions will be appreciated. Thanx!
__________________

__________________
Daverd08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 10:24 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Angelo,TX
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by daverd08
hey everyone! I just got a 40 gallon thank. And i'm looking to make it reef safe tank. It has the lights that came with it. Will i need a sump? I have a 30gal. Will that work as a sump. This will be my second tank. The first wasn't reef safe though. Any suggestions will be appreciated. Thanx!


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3847117945.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	150.5 KB
ID:	102877



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-227609248.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	160.3 KB
ID:	102876



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1841374352.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	149.9 KB
ID:	102875
__________________

__________________
Daverd08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 04:25 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Russ_gibbo1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 355
You don't NEED a sump but as you have a tank that is thoroughl
__________________
Russ_gibbo1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 04:27 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Russ_gibbo1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 355
Sorry, as you have a tank that is thoroughly suitable as a sump I'd definitely suggest you did, although sumps aren't a necessity, they do make life a lot easier, even if it's just for hiding all that unsightly equipment and the extra water volume.
__________________
Russ_gibbo1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 05:15 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daverd08
Hey everyone! I just got a 40 gallon thank. And I'm looking to make it reef safe tank. It has the lights that came with it. Will I need a sump? I have a 30gal. Will that work as a sump. This will be my second tank. The first wasn't reef safe though. Any suggestions will be appreciated. Thanx!
Not sure what you mean your last tank wasnt reef safe, if you could clarify. Never seen the term used in such a way so wanna clarify what exactly you mean.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 09:35 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
non reef safe tanks hold livestock that might eat or damage the corals.
__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 10:17 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Russ_gibbo1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 355
I'm assuming from the post he meant his lighting and stocking.
__________________
Russ_gibbo1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 02:19 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russ_gibbo1985
I'm assuming from the post he meant his lighting and stocking.
Exactly why u wished for him to clarify. Not on the same page. Not reef safe could mean a number of things.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 03:39 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Angelo,TX
Posts: 17
@ Russ.. Thank you I'll definitely use it then.
__________________
Daverd08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 03:41 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Angelo,TX
Posts: 17
@ schism by not reef safe, I mean I don't have suitable lighting. And the chocolate chip starfish will eat on a reef.
__________________

__________________
Daverd08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
40 gallon, start

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.