Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-06-2013, 10:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

40B Newbie

Hello
so I am just starting out and I want to do a reef tank. I have a 40 gallon breeder with an Aqua Clear 55/75 HOB, Getting a used Current 4xT5 light. a HOB Skimmer off EBay one of those instant ocean SeaClone clones, and a SunSun JVP-201B 1585 GPH Dual Aquarium Circulation Pump Wavemaker Powerhead w/ Magnet Clamp Base. Is this good enough for a reef tank.

Now what I really need to know is how to get it going I was told to buy live sand and 50/50 live and dry rock up to 35 pounds to get it started and some kind of fish to cycle it. Do I need this much rock has anybody ever purchased live rock over the internet I really on a tight budget to start.

Thanks,

Old 08-07-2013, 01:31 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Quote:
Originally Posted by asmodyus View Post
Hello
so I am just starting out and I want to do a reef tank. I have a 40 gallon breeder with an Aqua Clear 55/75 HOB, Getting a used Current 4xT5 light. a HOB Skimmer off EBay one of those instant ocean SeaClone clones, and a SunSun JVP-201B 1585 GPH Dual Aquarium Circulation Pump Wavemaker Powerhead w/ Magnet Clamp Base. Is this good enough for a reef tank.

Now what I really need to know is how to get it going I was told to buy live sand and 50/50 live and dry rock up to 35 pounds to get it started and some kind of fish to cycle it. Do I need this much rock has anybody ever purchased live rock over the internet I really on a tight budget to start.

Thanks,
That power head is too much for a 3' tank. eBay has a pair of made in china wave makers 800gph each for like $25. That would be better, that way u will have intersecting currents.