40B Newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

asmodyus

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello
so I am just starting out and I want to do a reef tank. I have a 40 gallon breeder with an Aqua Clear 55/75 HOB, Getting a used Current 4xT5 light. a HOB Skimmer off EBay one of those instant ocean SeaClone clones, and a SunSun JVP-201B 1585 GPH Dual Aquarium Circulation Pump Wavemaker Powerhead w/ Magnet Clamp Base. Is this good enough for a reef tank.

Now what I really need to know is how to get it going I was told to buy live sand and 50/50 live and dry rock up to 35 pounds to get it started and some kind of fish to cycle it. Do I need this much rock has anybody ever purchased live rock over the internet I really on a tight budget to start.

Thanks,

Hello
so I am just starting out and I want to do a reef tank. I have a 40 gallon breeder with an Aqua Clear 55/75 HOB, Getting a used Current 4xT5 light. a HOB Skimmer off EBay one of those instant ocean SeaClone clones, and a SunSun JVP-201B 1585 GPH Dual Aquarium Circulation Pump Wavemaker Powerhead w/ Magnet Clamp Base. Is this good enough for a reef tank.

Now what I really need to know is how to get it going I was told to buy live sand and 50/50 live and dry rock up to 35 pounds to get it started and some kind of fish to cycle it. Do I need this much rock has anybody ever purchased live rock over the internet I really on a tight budget to start.

Thanks,

That power head is too much for a 3' tank. eBay has a pair of made in china wave makers 800gph each for like $25. That would be better, that way u will have intersecting currents.