5.6 Fluval Spec Saltwater Fish & Reef Set Up

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

taintedlemons

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am a semi-experienced Freshwater caretaker, but saltwater is a whole new ball game to me. 3 Days ago I set up my Fluval Spec 5

5.6 Gallons
Salinity - 1.024-1.025
PH - 8.0
Nitrates - 5.0 ppm
Nitrites - 0 ppm
Ammonia - 0 ppm

3 days ago I added 5 1/2 - 6 pounds of live sand, yesterday I added 5 1/4 Pounds of live rock. Today I have added 2 Ocellaris Clownfish, and nothing else. I'm letting everything stay as it is for awhile until I see how the cycling turns out considering this is my first time working with live sand, and live rock. So far it seems good. I've had these clownfish for 2-3 weeks in a QT, and they've been doing great. So here where my questions begin to come in.

I treated the water with water condition first, then followed with salt. The salinity is perfectly at 1.024-1.025. I am wondering if there is certain chemicals I should be adding daily/weekly/monthly etc.

Currently the setup is the original filtration with the exception of chemi-pure in place of the charcoal. I have heard of many people from the fish stores I go to, who have successfully used this tank to create beautiful fish & reef tanks that have done really great for a long time. Yes I realize the smaller the tank the more care. I am comfortable with that. I learned freshwater care from having a 10 gallon, I am doing the same for saltwater.

So back to questions. I am waiting most likely 2 months before adding anything else to the tank. At the moment I have 5 1/4 Pounds of live rock, and 5 1/2 - 6 Pounds of live sand. I intend on adding about 3-5 more pounds of live rock at any given point. However for the remainder of the 2 months will not be adding anything living.