Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-30-2009, 12:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
55g FOWLR newbie just double-checking

Hi all, my first post here, been a wonderful resource setting up my first 55g FOWLR after being a freshwater keeper for years.

I've been doing my research and just wanted to check on a few quick things. I didn't want to go with a sump on my tank as I'm a bit unfamiliar with how they work and a bit worried since I'm renting a very nice apt. Any mishaps would be baaaad news. Also, if I don't need a canister or hob filter that would also be my desired route.

I don't want to skimp on anything and start the tank incorrectly, so, here's my equipment list and just wanted to get some input (hopefully positive):

- 60-80 lbs of precured live rock
- 60lbs of Arag-Alive sand (special grade)
- HOB AquaC Remora Skimmer with maxi-jet 1200
- pre-skimmer for the Remora (not sure if I really need this)
- 2 Hydor Koralia Pumps #2 (600gph too much flow?)

Since I'm starting fresh would it be dumb to buy live sand or pre-cured rock (I don't want to cure the rock seperately if it can be done in the tank during the cycle)?

Would I be good to go with this equipment? I plan to stock the tank lightly after it cycles and it will most likely end up housing a max of 6-8 fish that will grow no larger than 5" or so. I'm hoping the live rock, skimmer, Koralia's will be enough that I don't need other conventional filtration, that would be great.

Of course, it's understood I have the basics like heater, etc. & I'll be getting a refractometer, salt, etc. And weekly water changes & daily checks on levels and such.

Any help or insight would be most appreciated!

Thanks,
Joe
__________________

__________________
MoJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 04:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 57
you will need lighting also.
__________________

__________________
SaltyTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 05:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Thanks Tony, yes I have a Coralife aqualight that will be running 2 55w 50/50 bulbs.
__________________
MoJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 06:12 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Don't waste your money on live sand.
You can combine 75% base rock with 25% LR and cycle it with the tank.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 06:32 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree with just getting regular dry sand. Cheaper and will become live over time. I would just get the sand and rock and cure it and cycle the tank at the same time. Your lighting will be OK for a FOWLR tank but if you ever go reef you`ll need to upgrade but you probably already knew that.

BTW Welcome to AA
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 08:12 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Thanks for the advice everyone.

I had a few quick questions, sorry if they seem a bit dumb:

Since I'm starting the tank fresh without any stock, do I just

- Load the sand in, load the live rock in (cured or pre-cured)

- turn on the protein skimmer (do I need to run this for cycling/curing?)

- wait and check params as the cycle begins

Those are the only things I'm confused on, will the live rock curing process get mixed up with the tank cycle?

Thanks in advance!

Joe
__________________
MoJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 08:26 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
- Yes
- If you like, some folks use the skimmer during the cycle simply to break it in.
- Yep
I like to use 1 raw, unseasoned jumbo shrimp, per 30 gallons for my ammonia source. If you are using fully cured LR, then you can see a quicker cycle. (the raw shrimp is a lot cheaper)!

Welcome to the site.
You are asking good questions, most of which we all had at one time and will help future folks when they start out, so don't sweat it.

Oh yeah, we only ask for pics in return!
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 09:13 PM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Just put everything in and cycle and cure at the same time.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 09:20 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64 View Post
- Yes
- If you like, some folks use the skimmer during the cycle simply to break it in.
- Yep
I like to use 1 raw, unseasoned jumbo shrimp, per 30 gallons for my ammonia source. If you are using fully cured LR, then you can see a quicker cycle. (the raw shrimp is a lot cheaper)!

Welcome to the site.
You are asking good questions, most of which we all had at one time and will help future folks when they start out, so don't sweat it.

Oh yeah, we only ask for pics in return!
Thanks so much for the tips roka & melo.

I'm def going to use the skimmer during the cycling/curing process to break it in. I haven't fully decided on which live rock I will be getting, it helps to know I can cure it in the tank while it cycles instead of spending big $ on pre-cured.

I just would never have thought that I could support the tank's cycle on the live rock, skimmer, & weekly maintenence alone. It helped me be less worried about starting it all up.

Can't wait to get this all set-up & running, I will be posting lots I'm sure!

Thanks again!
__________________
MoJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 11:47 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoJoe View Post
- 60-80 lbs of precured live rock
- 60lbs of Arag-Alive sand (special grade)
- HOB AquaC Remora Skimmer with maxi-jet 1200
- pre-skimmer for the Remora (not sure if I really need this)
- 2 Hydor Koralia Pumps #2 (600gph too much flow?)


Would I be good to go with this equipment? I plan to stock the tank lightly after it cycles and it will most likely end up housing a max of 6-8 fish that will grow no larger than 5" or so. I'm hoping the live rock, skimmer, Koralia's will be enough that I don't need other conventional filtration, that would be great.
2 k2's are the perfect powerheads for the 55. I don't think anyone noticed but IMO 6-8 fish in a 55 would not me lightly stocked depending on the fish. i would consider 8 overstocked and 6 fully stocked. again depends on the fish. some require more room to swim than others.
__________________

__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
55 gallon, fowlr

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double-checking my new fert regime marchmaxima Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 04-13-2009 10:09 AM
Just double checking Jarred Darque Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 10-06-2006 02:10 AM
Just double checking Japola44 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 03-21-2006 07:12 PM
not sure if fish is sick, just double checking rubysoho Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 21 07-15-2004 12:22 PM
newbie starting a 55g FOWLR setup turboTSI Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 15 05-29-2004 09:25 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.