55G Saltwater Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Royal Pein

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm pretty new to this, spent about a month learning and understanding how everything works.
So far I have the tank running for 3 weeks. I have 50 lbs of live sand and about 60 lbs of live rock. I have a sump which I'm using as a refriguim.

Attachments

• ForumRunner_20120425_130659.jpg
    ForumRunner_20120425_130659.jpg
    62.2 KB · Views: 141
Welcome to the forum!

You have some really nice rockwork going on in there :).

Looks great!

How close are you to finish cycling? Are you adding an ammonia source and testing?

I've tested my ammonia levels its already low. It was pretty high about a week and a half ago. Just waiting for my nitrites and nitrates to go down.

NitrItes will go down but nitrAtes will go up. When you have 0ppm ammonia and nitrItes and high nitrAtes, you are finished. Then you will do water changes to get the nitrAtes down and you are ready for livestock.

Wow.. Thats look way better than my 55G when I started saltwater... Looks great 55G is not a bad setup to start with a Saltwater tank. Good choice :)

I'm just waiting for my nitrites to go down. For now my ammonia is between .25 and 0ppm, my nitrite is 2ppm and nitrate is at 20ppm.
I checked this morning. Since I made my sump into a refrugium, I plan on getting some macroalgae to reduce my nitrates levels. But I'll still do my water changes.
Hopefully it'll go down before the weekend.
How much of a water change is good? I was thinking about 25% of a water change.

I do anywhere from 15% to 30% water changes, depends on the tank and the testing results as well as how ambitious I feel that day! lol

Did my water change. Ammonia and Nitrites is at 0. Nitrates is at 10ppm.