Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-29-2006, 10:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 133
5gal refugium enough?

I'm full of questions tonight. I have just completed my (15g) sump system and plan on firing it up in the morning (too tired tonight). There wasn't enough room in the sump itself so I built a DIY refugium next to it. Unfortunately, in order to have enough room under the tank to incorporate an auto-fill system, I had to go with a 5g fuge. It seems pretty small when compared to the size of the parent tank (92g). Will this even be worth it?

Also, can you add macroalgae to a refugium during cycle?
__________________

__________________
Serpentman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2006, 01:29 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ.
Posts: 98
I would think a refuge of *any* size that you can grow pods or cheato in or whatever you were into, would be worth it. If you have the room for 5gal, thats what you use. Me, I'm only going to have a 3 gallon fuge, but I'm doing it because I think the benifits are worth it.
__________________

__________________
I have an Oceanic 75g RR tank, MegaFlow sump, ASM G2 Skimmer, stand, canopy, and 60lbs of base rock.

Someday I'll add fishies.
elzool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2006, 01:01 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Re: 5gal refugium enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serpentman
Also, can you add macroalgae to a refugium during cycle?
I’d hold off till your tank cycles IMO.

The 5 gal is fine, anything is better then nothing. Do you have it higher then your sump with water being pumped into it and having it gravity feed back into the sump?
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2006, 07:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 133
Its lined up even with the sump with a siphon return. I thought about taking the tank to have the glass drilled, then raising it and having the return gravity fed.
__________________
Serpentman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refugium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What to do with a 1.5gal? bluerose Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 08-12-2009 03:36 PM
5gal nano MCluett Nano Reefs 13 09-02-2008 12:18 PM
5gal recommendations WaterPond Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 17 01-28-2007 02:49 PM
5gal photos WaterPond Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 8 09-24-2006 09:25 AM
What to put in my 5gal? JenNewbie Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 07-11-2004 12:52 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.