Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-20-2012, 04:20 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lindsay1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 256
I am constantly getting different answers. That's what I thought and asked if I should start running before cycle was done and was told no. I figured since it needed to break in it wouldn't pull the stuff out, but was still told not to use till after cycle. Thanks for your help, greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Lindsay1718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 04:55 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lindsay1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 256
I just checked bc it is 1/2 way filled back up and it's still reading the same. I checked the hydrometer against tap and a small batch of saltwater and test fine. I'm not sure what to do shouldn't it be going down. Should I let some down in sump? So I can keep adding water? Please help. Thanks.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1167016378.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	135.3 KB
ID:	126331
__________________

__________________
Lindsay1718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 05:19 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Like I said the top of your needle is reaching the surface of the water so you are off the charts.. you could take out one gallon and then figure how much Ro/Di it takes to get the 1 gallon correct. Then do the same to your tank.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 05:25 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lindsay1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 256
Thanks I let my 1st compartment fill up in sump so I have more room, I will try to get it to low end of salinity then let it all mix together so it should be right. I can't imagine why it did this, I followed directions exactly.
__________________
Lindsay1718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 05:28 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Wait so some of your sump is still empty? Turn your system on as if its running normally to fill up with water cause if not your just gonna have to make another batch of water just to add for the sump volume when you do so better now while its one body of water.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 05:38 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lindsay1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 256
I only allowed it to fill the first compartment and bubble trap, I figure when I fill it back up and get salinity right, I'll let rest of sump fill and start running I will still need room to add rock/sand so I don't need it filled all the way with sump until after I get stuff in, right? I am sorry I'm not that good at the math portion of this. I'm kinda confused can you explain a little better.
__________________
Lindsay1718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:10 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
I would run the sump that way you don't end up being a little short on water causing you to have to mix up some more.. its easier to take water out then it is to put water in but if you feel the plumbing and sump being empty will leave you enough room for rock and sand displacement then go for it there's no wrong way really just trying to help you avoid a couple steps possibly. The main reason I would fill your sump though is so you have plenty of room to add Ro/Di cause pouring good saltwater down the drain is wasteful and costly sometimes lol
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:17 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lindsay1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 256
Ok, the problem I ran into is bc my tank is drilled so when it ran down past bulkhead it quit filling sump. Any suggestions?

Lindsay
__________________
Lindsay1718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:20 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Add some Ro/Di which will lower your salinity and bring your water level up. Keep doing this until you either corrected your salinity or ran out of room for water which in that case drain a little and add some more Ro/Di... Don't sweat it though the first fill up can be a headache since your making so much freakin water lol
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:26 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lindsay1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 256
Yep, that's what I am doing draining more in sump it's filled refugium about 1/4 way so hopefully it will fill up, I just checked again and it's still off the charts, why would it be that high following directions?
__________________

__________________
Lindsay1718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reef, soft

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.