75-80G SW tank; desperately needing advice!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Morgie

Aquarium Advice FINatic
My mom wants a saltwater tank for her birthday and I'm very excited to get started! The stand I'm going to get her will support a 55-80 gallon tank, so I'm thinking of going for 75-80g range, since I've heard that bigger SW tanks are easier to maintain. I'm experienced with freshwater but a complete novice with saltwater! If you guys could give me some beginner advice that would be awesome. I know some of the basic supplies I'll need, but I'd love to hear your experience with certain brands and the prices of each. Since I am a broke college student I'd like to be as economical as possible while still having a great and efficient setup. My mom really wants a reef tank, but I know that's going to be a lot more difficult than a FOWLR.
Advice, por favor?

I am sure lots of people will chip in with great advice but if not, send me a message and I will tell you what I know. The bad part is I don't know what I "DON'T" know. I have only been at this about three weeks. Let the experts help but if you don't hear anything I do what I can. Good Luck.

Here's a basic list I put together of essentials and brand name products I saw recommended on this site and on others. Help me revise this list and tell me your experiences with certain products?

75-80G Tank
Tank Stand
Very high output fluorescent lighting (VHO)
Heater
Thermometer
Hydrometer
Seio Super Pump
Aragonite sand
Salt
Saltwater Master Test
Protein Skimmer (filter)

Welcome :) If you are going with reef than you need to get better lighting such as T5s or Metal Hallide. I'd go with T5 as it is cheaper. Oh and I'd use something such as pool filter sand which is like $10 for 50 pounds because Arganite can build up nitrates depending on the size of the grain.