Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-22-2013, 01:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

A bit of help please.

About 10 days ago I started my tank. I'm still pretty new at this. I did lots of reading before starting. I've got a 40g with about 50lbs rock. 10 dry the rest live. I've got the heater running at around 80. Two filters running (not sure if I should have them both on). One is a fluval c4 and the other is a h.o.t. magnum and I have what I believe is called a wave maker. Has the little propeller.

Ok, what I need some help with is understanding my test readings. I read about cycling. My levels seem odd. Maybe not. I'm using the API master kit.

Ph-8.0
Ammonia-.25-.5(hard to tell)
Nitrite-.25
Nitrate-20

Old 03-23-2013, 07:22 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie

I tested again and attached a pic of the results. Has it cycled? Or possibly not cycled yet? Should I do a water change? I didn't do anything but add all the live rock. Was going to do the shrimp thing but was waiting for my test kit in the mail.

And also this is my first time posting. Having no replies I have to ask if I did something incorrectly.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2910266096.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	162.4 KB
ID:	161777

Old 03-23-2013, 08:03 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

I think it would be wise to add an ammonia source. You really want to see ammonia spike at around 4ppm to create a healthy bb colony.
Old 03-23-2013, 08:09 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Go ahead and add the shrimp, but you are correct that the tank is not cycled. Good on you for having lots of rock, a test kit, and asking questions!
When you have nothing but nitrates, do a water change and add fish slowly. Like one at a time with at least a week before the next, watching levels daily.