Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-08-2004, 06:06 PM   #11
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Nitrates are definately on the higher side but with zero nitrite, I would have the ammonia reading verified. Most likely you are getting a false reading or otherwise faulty test kit.

Your problem may be a little more indepth. Depending on the amount of LR you currently have, there may not be enough surface area for sufficient amounts of bacteria to colonize. What is your substrate? Sand or CC?

Adding any more than one or two fish to a 55 gal tank will definately cause huge water quality issues and most likely why the fish died. There is also the strong possibility of parasites or diesease if the fish were not properly quarantined prior to introduction. If adding the second batch of fish within a few weeks of the first 8 passing, there could still have been a pathogen present. That or the ammonia had not subsided. Did you at any time have a reading on the ammonia above 0.25 ppm?

Before you add anything else to the tank I would suggest having the LFS verify all your test readings and also do a large water change to eliminate some of those nitrates. Unless you can cycle any new rock outside the main tank, I would return the animals you currently have or they will perish.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 06:40 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
ammonia .25 which has never changed.
Quote:
All tests have been done Mrdel test strip.
More than likely the tank is cycled, the test strips are not accurate, IMO, and probably cannot read a level of 0 for ammonia. Take a sample to someone with a good test kit and have them do it for you. Also, if you used amquel to condition your water or for any ammonia issues, it will give a false positive reading for any kit that is not a salycilate kit.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 06:43 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ca
Posts: 179
Send a message via Yahoo to OhTheHumanity
I'm going to disassemble the 55 and go with my new 80 and start from scratch. I can't leave my livestock in the 55 because I am going to put the 80 in the same pace as the 55. I'm just going to have to by a 10 and put livestock in there and see what happens. From what I understand it shouldnt take more than 7 to 10 days to cylce with shrimp. I currently have coral gravel, however with the 80 I am going to use sand.

The new fish and crabs have been in for a month after the other fish died and they are fine.

I can't find salfert and any of my LFS, how is Aquarium Pharmaceuticals liquid test kits?
__________________
OhTheHumanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 09:11 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by OhTheHumanity
What's the difference between cycling with LR or cycling with damsels and inverts? I'm still going to get an ammonia spike. Then how long should I leave it in the tub?
I think the biggest difference is just in how you look at it. Some think it is unethical to use fish to cure a tank because of the harmful ammonia spikes that occure when cycling a tank. Those who don't believe in using fish, will use the raw shrimp method or just use LR to cure.
__________________
two11devan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 10:37 PM   #15
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by OhTheHumanity
From what I understand it shouldnt take more than 7 to 10 days to cylce with shrimp.
It can actually take 4-8 weeks depending on how the tank is set up initially. The ammonia alone will take 7-10 days to form and possibley begin to diminsh. The nitrites can actually take a few weeks to subside.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 11:08 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ca
Posts: 179
Send a message via Yahoo to OhTheHumanity
Well crap. Here is my new situation. I bought a new test kit tonight. Results are as follows.

Nitrate 40 What can I do to lower?

Nitrite 0

PH 8.4 Isn't ideal 8.2? Any suggestions?

Ammonia 0 The kit I had was inaccurate.

So I guess this means the tank is cycled?

Now the new part. How do I get my 80 up and going without having to completely cycle again? Can I add the sand, put my old water into the new tank and fill the rest with new water / mix? Wouldn't this be the same as a water change? If I can do the old with new I will get a tub and mix prior to taking down the 55 so it is all ready at the same time.

Then I'll do my LR after that and put it into the tub after I make a new mix and get it warmed up and ready to go.

I'll stop here for now, though I have more questions I'll wait to see the answers to these. Sorry guys I just want to do this right.

When I bought the 80 last night I wasn't to concerned about cycling again. It was going to be set up the way I should have done it in the first place. lol DON"T LISTEN TO PETCO!!!!!!
__________________
OhTheHumanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 01:57 AM   #17
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You can transfer everything as is except the animals. The 80 will still cycle somewhat given you are almost doubling the volume. Might not get any ammonia but could get some nitrites and even higher nitrates. You will need to add the appropiate amount of dead sand and then transfer the sand and rock from the 55. If you where thinking of increasing the amount of rock, I'd take this opportunity to return the inverts and start things off in the right direction.

Once the new 80 is cycled and running properly, you can then safely start stocking the tank without any issues hopefully If you take the route of keeping everything and just continuing on, there is a good chance you will have more problems down the road. If this was a well established tank this would be much less an issue but with a newly set up tank I think it will be a headache.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 02:04 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ca
Posts: 179
Send a message via Yahoo to OhTheHumanity
All I have in the tank is 6 pounds of rock. and coral gravel which I don't want. I'll Start anew with a dead sand base and add some live sand on top of that.

How many lbs of LS would you reccomend putting on top of the dead sand?

Would it help to put a couple of cup fulls of the coral gravel I have now in to also help seed?
__________________
OhTheHumanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 02:12 AM   #19
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by OhTheHumanity
How many lbs of LS would you reccomend putting on top of the dead sand?
None, don't waste your money.

Quote:
Would it help to put a couple of cup fulls of the coral gravel I have now in to also help seed?
It would help immensley but is would not place it loose in the tank. Get a new pair of nylons (or get the g/f to get them) and make some softball sized CC bags from the 55 and bury them in the new sand. This will colonize a fair amount of bacteria and possibley any critters without leaving a mess with trying to remove the CC later.

With only 6 lbs of LR, I would definately suggest much more if this is to be a reef tank. Getting it now while the tank is being re-set up so to speak would be ideal.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 02:21 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ca
Posts: 179
Send a message via Yahoo to OhTheHumanity
Great idea with the nylons. How about a pair of 15 year old gym socks? kidding

I'm going to try and track down some tropical play sand. I don't think I'll get any critters out of that.

As for the rock I have already decided to get atleast 120lbs. Problem is Liverocks.com won't have any until MMarch.

So I will have to put the rock in a container for a few days before I incorporate it.

How about I just fly you out for a few days and you do it for me???? lol
__________________

__________________
OhTheHumanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confused!!! roka64 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 11 06-04-2006 02:11 PM
Confused Zagz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 21 03-08-2006 09:42 PM
so confused by my new LR copi Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 02-23-2005 01:30 AM
Confused?!..... Keepers_girl Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 05-23-2004 10:00 PM
So very confused Leahdanilalton Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 04-28-2004 12:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.