Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-06-2013, 01:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DIZZLE808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 283
a little guidance needed

So its been almost 2.5 months since velvet wiped out all the fish in my 55, now planning on getting everything back together. I have a question about setting up a QT. I'm currently using a eheim cannister filter, which I plan on changing to a sump sometime in the new year, but can I place a few bio balls somewhere inside the the filter media to seed it and then place them in HOB filter for the QT when needed?
__________________

__________________
55g
DIZZLE808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 01:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarinaClown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 790
Quote:
Originally Posted by DIZZLE808 View Post
So its been almost 2.5 months since velvet wiped out all the fish in my 55, now planning on getting everything back together. I have a question about setting up a QT. I'm currently using a eheim cannister filter, which I plan on changing to a sump sometime in the new year, but can I place a few bio balls somewhere inside the the filter media to seed it and then place them in HOB filter for the QT when needed?
Watch this video. It's very helpful. Happens to be from my LFS.
http://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=y...ure%3Dyoutu.be
__________________

__________________
60 Gallon SPS dominated reef tank.
MarinaClown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 02:26 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DIZZLE808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 283
thanks for the link. I just wathced the video. question though... this is the first time I'm hearing of running a QT without some kind of filter, I'm not doubting your LFS credentials or anything but have you or anyone else used this method before with your QT? I was under the impression that water from the DT has no effect on filtering ammonia, trites, trates etc. So if you went without a filter I would assume your going to be doing pwcs daily
__________________
55g
DIZZLE808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 02:55 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarinaClown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 790
I am using it w/o filter. Just weekly water changes are fine or as needed if params are not good. However, even if you are using a filter and dosing with medication, oftentimes you get a false read on ammonia, etc. key is to keep you main water tank clean so you can use it in QT.
__________________
60 Gallon SPS dominated reef tank.
MarinaClown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 03:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DIZZLE808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 283
If going that route couldn't you just put fresh saltwater in the QT as opposed to taking water out of the DT?
__________________
55g
DIZZLE808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 03:15 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarinaClown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 790
Sure you can. I personally would rather put stable water from my main tank than fresh saltwater.
__________________
60 Gallon SPS dominated reef tank.
MarinaClown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 03:28 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DIZZLE808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 283
I know what you mean. Luckily for me I get my water from the ocean...well from a saltwater well that comes from the ocean. On another note I'm looking into getting new PH's. In a perfect world I'd get the vortech mp40's. But since that's not financially excusable for me at the moment that'll have to wait. Any input/opinions on the hydor koralia wave maker controller?
__________________
55g
DIZZLE808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 04:39 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Jschier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 130
After a bit if research I favored the hydors for performance and especially price. I had an opportunity to pick up a jebao 25 super cheap and I liked it so much I bought another. The hydors give you lots of options but if you need several ph or lots of gpm the jebao ph are really good.
__________________
Jschier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 05:30 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DIZZLE808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 283
I just looked at some reviews/videos on the Jebao's. I gotta say that right now I'm almost sold on them. I'll think about it a little while more before I pull the trigger. I have two maxi-jets in my 55 now and I cant seem to get the flow that I want..tried moving them around to different places and still end up with dead spots. I put them in a different spot last night so I'm going to see how the tank looks after a few days and go from there.
__________________

__________________
55g
DIZZLE808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.