Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 06-06-2005, 07:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
a real newbie

So like i am completely new to the saltwater hobby. I've got an oceanic 58 show sitting dry at the moment but want to go salt. Is this a good size? Also I would only want like some smaller community fish and tons of corals and such, what kinda lighting would i need? Finaly should i go with a refugium or the wet/dry or even like a eheim? I know this may sound stupid but all the LFS tell me something different. Would appreciate any help possible!!!!

teguc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 07:28 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
first of all, there isn't really a set number for how big the tank need.
it can range from 10g to 300g even bigger.
the smaller your tank is the more often u need to change wwater to keep it nice and clean for your fish
Second, it will depend on what type of fish and coral u want to keep to find out what kind of equipment u need.
a refugium is always a plus for reef system, so i would say yes if u be able to set up one

We Provide LED Solution For Your Aquarium..
Click the Signature for more information.
oyf709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 08:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
Send a message via AIM to badfish