Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-15-2006, 02:10 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Send a message via ICQ to zenkatydid Send a message via AIM to zenkatydid Send a message via MSN to zenkatydid
Absolute Beginner

I am reasonably well-schooled on freshwater aquariums, but have never looked at saltwater. So, I thought I'd have a glance at the forums... but everything went so far over my head it wasn't funny. So, I looked at the "getting started" articles, but it's all still too advanced. I mean, what is live rock anyway?! Do I need a filter? Do I do water changes? What is a "feeding hole"? What's this about a "drilled" tank? I mean, really basic stuff... Is there any information like this around?

I am asking because I have a "spare" 17gal tank. Is this too small to do a successful saltwater set up? I just want gobies! If I'm way off, would I be better off with a brackish tank and some bumblebees?

zenkatydid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2006, 07:50 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
I would reccomend a book then. Bob Fenner has a book, The Concientious Marine Aquarist, that would be good. I have The New Marine Aquarium by Michael Paletta that I think is good for beginners. It will explain everything you need to know about sw aquariums. Else, you've always got AA.