Absolute Beginner

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zenkatydid

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I am reasonably well-schooled on freshwater aquariums, but have never looked at saltwater. So, I thought I'd have a glance at the forums... but everything went so far over my head it wasn't funny. So, I looked at the "getting started" articles, but it's all still too advanced. I mean, what is live rock anyway?! Do I need a filter? Do I do water changes? What is a "feeding hole"? What's this about a "drilled" tank? I mean, really basic stuff... Is there any information like this around?

I am asking because I have a "spare" 17gal tank. Is this too small to do a successful saltwater set up? I just want gobies! :D If I'm way off, would I be better off with a brackish tank and some bumblebees?

I would reccomend a book then. Bob Fenner has a book, The Concientious Marine Aquarist, that would be good. I have The New Marine Aquarium by Michael Paletta that I think is good for beginners. It will explain everything you need to know about sw aquariums. Else, you've always got AA. ;)

However... Liverock is rock that is colonized with bacteria and life. It is good because it provides good grounds for the denitrification process. No, you don't need a filter, but you do need something to move water. Powerheads, for example. Prtoein skimmers are also a good investment, esp for reef tanks. No feeding hole. And a drilled tank is a tank drilled for overflows and sumps. They are beneficial, but not needed at all. With 17 gallons, I personally would not worry about dilled, overflows, etc. Like said, justmy opinion though.

HTH

I am just a beginner myself, but I was told at several stores that specialize in SW around town that you shouldnt set up a tank for SW under 29g because it is too hard to maintain.