Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-31-2012, 09:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MyR6Rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 133
Adding a sump

I'm adding a new sump to my established system which doesn't have a sump. I'm going to use live sand/rock in it and was wondering if I could add it at same time or should I add sand wait a bit then lr? I'm thinking its going to cycle correct?
__________________

__________________
MyR6Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 10:12 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
IMO the cycle would be minimum if any. When I add extra sand to my tank I rinse the live sand out really well and never had a problem. Want to keep the same color. I run lr and chaeto no sand to me it's harder to clean with sand.
__________________

__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MyR6Rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 133
Doesn't rinsing the sand defeat the purpose?
__________________
MyR6Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:46 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyR6Rocks View Post
Doesn't rinsing the sand defeat the purpose?
Rinse the sand with saltwater cleans it without killing it shouldnt have a cycle adding bb doesn cause cycle adding ammonia via livestock or dieoff from unrinsed sand or rock will cause lil spike imo no need for lr or ls in sump just chaeto for me
__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 08:58 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MyR6Rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbstrong View Post

Rinse the sand with saltwater cleans it without killing it shouldnt have a cycle adding bb doesn cause cycle adding ammonia via livestock or dieoff from unrinsed sand or rock will cause lil spike imo no need for lr or ls in sump just chaeto for me
Ok I'm considering ditching the ls/lr route. Just thought that was the way to go, I'm really inexperienced as far as sumps go. Looking online there's lots of different types available is one type better than the others? It's all "macro" algae. The whole reason I went this route is cause with my under cabinet canister filter its impossible to keep my trates under control. Also the lighting I was planning to use on the sump is a fluorescent off my 10gal qt tank. Thanks
__________________
MyR6Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 10:02 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 183
add crushed coral sand and dry rock. wash the sand good and rinse the rock it will all become live
__________________
Nosaj81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 10:13 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MyR6Rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosaj81 View Post
add crushed coral sand and dry rock. wash the sand good and rinse the rock it will all become live
Yeah originally I was going the sand/rock route and adding a small cuc maybe 2 snails 2 crabs. Will that still lower my nitrates? That's whole reason I went with a sump
__________________
MyR6Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 10:31 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 183
having a deep sand bed around 6" of sugar grade sand and some cheato will help lower nitrates i would put the cuc in the dt not the sump
__________________
Nosaj81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 10:49 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MyR6Rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosaj81 View Post
having a deep sand bed around 6" of sugar grade sand and some cheato will help lower nitrates i would put the cuc in the dt not the sump
Someone else here said sand is to hard to clean that's why I was thinking cuc
__________________
MyR6Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 11:15 AM   #10
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Here is a good three part link on sumps that will help you out.

Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sumps, Part I by Greg Taylor - Reefkeeping.com
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.